A Cheese Bread Wreath (SRC)

It is SRC (Secret Recipe Club) reveal day…. woohoo

For those who aren’t aware – I joined the Secret Recipe club a few months back – whereby bloggers are allocated to a group and on a monthly basis, we get allocated another bloggers website for which we need to find a recipe, re-create it and publish it on an assigned date (and time)!

newsrcbanner

This month – I got the amazing Chef in Disguise… Seriously, this woman had me in absolute awe!

chef in disguise

Not only is Sawnson a orthondondist (fancy dentist :)) but she is also an amazing cook & baker – with her blog showcasing some amazing technical skill! PLUS she is also mom to 2 children… so basically wonderwoman…. full-time job, mom AND phenomenal in the kitchen! Just to prove my point – she is part of clubs called the “daring cooks” & “daring bakers” – whereby they challenge each other to make “more” difficult bakes than the average person can handle – particularly impressed with her chimney cake, Nutella twists & Schichttorte (layered cake).

I really can’t describe how difficult it was for me to decide on which recipe from her blog to choose…. but I finally got won over by her delicious looking cheese bread wreath…. however, my biggest mistake was not using her recommended egg wash and therefore my egg wash made my wreath a lot browner than it should have! I did also only use one type of cheese (cheddar) while her recipe called for 2 types… But all in all – it looked slightly different (aka – not as professional as hers, but I can still say that it tasted Great! A bit of a brioche experience with the surprise savoury influence in the inclusion of the cheese & herbs … Mmm

I would definitely make this again – but I would either use her proposed egg wash or omit having an egg wash at all…

CHEESE BREAD WREATH

4

1/4 cup (60 ml) warm water
3/4 cup warm milk
1 egg
1/4 cup (57 gram) butter, softened
1/4 cup (50 gram) white sugar
1/2 teaspoon (2 grams) salt
450 gram all-purpose flour
2 teaspoons (8 grams) dry yeast
1 egg
2 cups grated cheese (I used an English cheddar cheese but you can also use Mozzarella or any firm salty cheese)
sprinkling of mixed herbs

  • In one bowl whisk egg, milk, water, sugar, butter and yeast. Set aside
  • In another bowl sift the flour with the salt
  • Add the liquid ingredients to the dry ingredients and knead until you get a smooth dough. (it starts out quite wet, but I added another sprinkling of flour and it came together beautifully after about 5-10min)
  • Place the dough in a bowl brushed with some oil.
  • Cover the dough and leave it in a warm place to double
  • Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface & using a rolling pin, roll into the shape of a rectangle
  • Spread cheese into rectangle (leaving about 2cm around the edges)
  • 15
  • Roll the dough up (starting from the long side) until you make a long roll
  • Join the ends together (and attempt to pinch together)
  • 14
  • Using a knife (or scissors) – cut the dough at 5-8cm spaces about 2/3rd of the way through
  • Turn the slices so that the circles face upwards (approx. 90 degrees)
  • 13
  • Brush the dough with your egg wash
  • 12
  • Allow wreath to rest for 15min
  • Bake for 270C for 5min & then reduce temperature to 200 C for a further 15-20min

5

My top went brown very quickly in the first 5min – so I placed a piece of foil on the top for the rest of the baking.

click here fora 1pager printer friendly version.


Linking to the HOST

http://secretrecipeclub.com/

13 thoughts on “A Cheese Bread Wreath (SRC)

  1. Oh, wow!! I think your bread is absolutely STUNNING!! I actually LOVE the deep, dark, rich color, myself! 😀 You did a beautiful job!! (SRC member)

    • thanks Kelly – as part of SRC – you always know what the finished product should look like, so I was a bit nervous…
      Having said that – it tasted awesome… so the darker top didn’t worry me as much after that 🙂

  2. Pingback: Why I loved 2014 | whyiamnotskinny

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Pancakes | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a comment