Why I loved 2014

2014 had some amazing memories (including our 2nd wedding celebration with HIM’s Portuguese family & friends) as well as some very sad ones (like the passing of my aunt Jules who was infamous for her lemon meringue pie)

A quick recap shows that I managed to write & publish 95 new posts (bringing my blog total to 445 posts since I started in Feb 2012) and these were some of yours and my favourites…

5 of my favourite BRUSSELS Restaurant reviews and visits of 2014 include:

  1. Cafe Des Spores (Mushroom Restaurant)
  2. Amadeus (Ribs… ribs… ribs)
  3. Forcado (Portuguese Bakery)
  4. Knees to Chin (Rice Paper Rolls)
  5. Peck 47 (Brunch & cocktails)

knees to chin 2

And 5 of my favourite tested Recipes of 2014 include:

  1. Chocolate & Salted Caramel Tartlets
  2. Chocolate Truffle Cake
  3. Blueberry Cheesecake
  4. Best Ever Banana muffins
  5. Cheese bread wreath

Interestingly enough – the 5 most popular recipes on my blog where not even written in 2014!!!

  1. Flapjacks/Crumpets South African style
  2. How do you spell Hummus?
  3. My Granny’s chocolate coconut biscuit recipe
  4. Pineapple fluff dessert
  5. Broccoli & Courgette Soup

and finally…. on a personal note – why did I love 2014? Because of all the celebrations!!!

  • My mom’s 60th birthday in May
  • HIM & I celebrated our “2nd wedding”in Portugal with his family & friends in July
  • Started & Launched Brussels Food Friends with some truly awesome Belgian based food bloggers – whereby we coordinated 3 events during the course of the year….
  • Celebrated 1year of marital bliss in November
  • Was a member of Secret Recipe Club – showcasing another bloggers recipe at the beginning of each month
  • Continued to host Bookalokal Murder Mystery Dinner parties (Read reviews from the bookalokal site,  Very Hungry Explorer & S Marks the Spots)

How was your 2014???

Any special plans for 2015???

2 thoughts on “Why I loved 2014

Leave a Reply

