Mini Key Lime Mousse Pies (SRC)

That’s right friends… it is Secret Recipe Club (SRC) time… and for those who are not aware, SRC is basically a secret santa/blog swap concept, where international food bloggers are assigned someone’s blog in order to make, photograph & write about one of their assigned blogs recipes.

newsrcbanner

Pretty cool, concept eh?

This is my 12th SRC reveal… and I have to admit that it has really opened up so many new blogs to me and encouraged me to try new things!

Which is why I was pretty excited to get Morsels of Life as my assigned blog this month – not only because of the mutaul love of food… but also because we have something in common… (well, almost)… CJ has a little boy called Bobert (who is SUPER cute) and we are expecting our first little one in just over 2 months time! So I feel somewhat connected to this mommy-dearest!

CJ provides a summary twice a week, the first being “Inspire me Monday” & the second being “Five Friday Finds” – both of which are a great reads! But I digress… I spent a good portion of time checking out her recipes and couldn’t decide on whether I would make her basic pizza crust, mini pineapple upside down cakes or the mini key lime mousse pies….

lime mousse pie 5

But finally – my sweet tooth won out (which I have been blaming on the pregnancy, when in reality, I think it has nothing to do with it) and we sat down to devour the Mini Key Lime Mousse pies – although I did make 2 adaptions – I used chocolate digestive biscuits as the base instead of the graham crackers & therefore didn’t need the sugar.

lime mousse pie 2

Oh boy were these delicious… I have to confess to being tempted to eat 2 in one sitting (oops)…and dreaming about having another for breakfast the next morning (which may or may not have happened and am taking the 5th about ;))

lime mousse pie 3

Individual Mini Key Lime Mousse Pies

5 Tablespoons lime juice
2 cups of cream
1 can of condensed milk
140g chocolate digestive biscuits
20g butter (melted)
zest & juice of 2 limes (optional)

  • Crumb the biscuits and add the melted butter
  • Push the biscuit crumble into the base of greased ramekins
  • Whip the cream
  • Combine lime juice, zest & condensed milk together
  • Fold lime mixture into cream and place on top of the biscuit base
  • Chill for 2hours

lime mousse pie 1

9 thoughts on “Mini Key Lime Mousse Pies (SRC)

  1. So exciting to have a baby in 2 months! And you’re eating for two, so a few extras are totally fine. Can’t have baby hungry, right? 😛 I’m loving your use of chocolate cookies too! 🙂

  2. Now you’re talking! This is something delicious from my neck of the world, South Florida! Key limes are one of my favorite fruits to use (from the tree in my backyard) and I love the way this recipe was made into individual servings and displayed so beautifully! I think I would be very tempted too to eat more than one too – and what’s wrong with having one for breakfast? lol Great choice for SRC!

  3. There is nothing I love more than Key Lime! These look great and I wish I was enjoying one right this minute!

  4. Pingback: Pineapple upside-down cake | whyiamnotskinny

  5. Pingback: Why I loved 2015 | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a comment