Chicken Pot Pies….

When my beautiful Capetonian friend Shellzie got married in Jan 2011 – and she graciously asked me to be one of her bridesmaids, Kir (my other bestie and Shells bridesmaid) and I decided to put together a Recipe book for her as one of her Kitchen Tea gifts!

We asked each lady in her circle (friends and family alike) to provide their favourite recipe, a photograph and a little message or story – and with this – we created a beautiful coffee-table cookbook made of recipes that meant something to each and every friend and was presented with love for Shells to enjoy in her married life!

Having said this – the recipe that I submitted was my Chicken, Leek and mushroom pie… which I have adapted due to the items in my fridge 🙂 and have landed up creating my very own version of a Chicken Pot Pie!

Chicken Pot Pie

50g Butter

2 leeks, cut into 1cm rounds

4 carrots, peeled and cut into pieces

50g flour

300ml chicken stock

150ml single cream

750g cooked chicken, shredded

350g readymade puff pastry

  1. Melt butter in a saucepan
  2. Add carrots and leeks and cook for 5mins, stirring occasionally
  3. Add flour and cook & stir for a further 1-2 minutes to make a paste
  4. Stir in stock and cream
  5. Bring to the boil, then reduce heat, cover and simmer for 15min
  6. Remove from the heat and add chicken
  7. Season and add fresh herbs
  8. Place into oven proof dishes
  9. Roll out pastry and cut appropriate sized Pastry lids for your dishes
  10. Add pastry lid, brush with egg yolk (if you wish)
  11. Bake in the oven for 25min @ 220C, then turn down the heat to 200c and cook for a further 15minutes

3 thoughts on “Chicken Pot Pies….

  1. Pingback: Salted Caramel Cheesecake « whyiamnotskinny

  2. Pingback: 12 Minute Cranberry Cinnamon Scones – Secret Recipe Club – I'm Hungry

  3. Pingback: Chicken and Mushroom Lattice Pie | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a comment