and how do YOU spell Houmous/Humus/Hummus??

I am still struggling to spell this word… is it hummus, hummous, houmous, hommus or humus???

“what do you mean you eat no meat??? …That’s ok, I make lamb”

Apparently the English word *hummus* comes from the Turkish word *humus* which in turn comes from the Arabic word *hummus* which in turn is derived from the word *himmas* which is the word for Chickpeas!

(Now why do I feel like I have had a discussion with Mr Portokalos from my Big Fat Greek Wedding?? With his infamous line “give me a word, any word, and I show you that the root of the word is Greek“)) Essentially, the spelling *humus* is avoided in English as it basically means *organic matter in soil*… nice!?!

But all in all, this is one of my favourite dip’s! particularly served with warm flatbread/pitabread’s… or slathered onto a slice of toast and topped with freshly sliced tomatoes and lots of salt and pepper! In fact, I think that I could eat it with a spoon… *hangs head in shame*

So how do you make your own HUMMUS?… SIMPLE!

I found the recipe in the Weightwatchers * Cook Smart Entertaining* book (page 99):

5pt for the entire recipe

400g can chickpeas

1 teaspoon bicarb of soda (baking soda)

1 large garlic clove, chopped roughly

2 teaspoons olive oil

2 tablespoons lemon juice

  1. Drain the can of chickpeas and soak in water for an hour with a teaspoon of bicarb of soda
  2. Drain and rinse chickpeas
  3. Add to food processor and whizz 🙂
  4. Add garlic, oil and lemon juice and blend for 20minutes until you have a beautiful smooth texture
  5. You may want to add a bit of seasoning (salt/pepper) and another drizzle of olive oil before serving

8 thoughts on “and how do YOU spell Houmous/Humus/Hummus??

  1. No apostrophe in chickpeas otherwise it leaves you thinking what is belonging to the chickpea? E.g. the chickpea’s colour. And bicarb, surely that’s only required in soaking raw chickpeas to speed the cooking process, I’ve never seen it used with cooked and or canned chickpeas.

    • thanks for the correction 🙂

      And yes – it seems that bicarb used in the process of soaking the raw chickpeas can break down and even reduces the gas-producing structures….
      (depending on how much you use – it can cause the chickpeas to taste a little soapy – so ensure you rinse properly before cooking)

  2. Pingback: Why I loved 2014 | whyiamnotskinny

  3. Pingback: Why I loved 2015 | whyiamnotskinny

  4. Pingback: 12 Minute Cranberry Cinnamon Scones – Secret Recipe Club – I'm Hungry

  5. My recipe calls for tahini, which is expensive and more fattening. Do you miss the tahini, as far as taste is concerned? I’m going to try your recipe because we like hummus, but rarely make it because of the tahini (which is not even available in our rural area).

Leave a comment