Goats cheese and chive soufflé

This is probably considered a *cheat* post – but in my defense…  I had watched the same episode of Hairy Bikers making these Goats cheese & chive soufflé’s as my friend… and I was in her kitchen at the time of their making (I even beat the egg whites…before they were folded in) … NOT to mention the speedy consumption of the finished product.

But I have to confess that they were not made in my own kitchen by my own 2 hands, but instead by my wonderfully talented friend Sarah…

The recipe can be found on the BBC Good Food website here

And is a definite crowd pleaser! These were made into individual dishes (6 portions) and in my humble opinion was a better idea than in one dish… as they have a tendency to collapse after a certain amount of time – plus plating from one dish isn’t as pretty!

cheese souffle 3

Goats cheese & chive Soufflé

300ml milk
1 onion, quartered
1 bay leaf
1 small bunch of thyme
300g goats cheese
50g butter
50g flour
4 eggs, separated
3 Tablespoons of chives (finely chopped)

  • Using baking parchment paper, create a collar for each of your butter greased ramekins (remember to butter the parchment paper too!)
  • Place milk with onion, bay leaf & thyme into a pot. Bring to a simmer and then leave to cool for 15min. Then strain into a jug
  • Cut the rind off the goats cheese and slice into smallish pieces
  • Melt butter in a saucepan, stir in flour and then gradually add the milk stirring between addition to create a smooth but thick consistency
  • Leave on the heat for a further 2 minutes before stirring in the cheese
  • Whisk egg yolks and stir into milk mixture until smooth
  • Whisk egg whites until stiff and fold into mixture (starting with 1 ladleful)
  • Pour into your greased ramekins & bake on a preheated baking tray for 20-25min at 220C

cheese souffle 1

2 thoughts on “Goats cheese and chive soufflé

Leave a comment