Butter Dips (SRC)

I can’t believe how quickly time flies by… it was only the other day that I was getting ready to head off on Maternity leave and take a short break from blogging… 4 months later, I am back at work and back working on the blog… and of course, back to Secret Recipe Club reveals.

newsrcbanner

For those who aren’t aware – SRC (Secret Recipe Club) is an online platform for recipe swapping.. using a “secret santa” approach. I.e. you have no idea who will be making something from your blog until your groups reveal day! Exciting, eh?

This month, I got Little Bit of Everything as my blog to check out. Written by Julie who describes herself as a 50-something from Nebraska (that is in the USA :)) who loves cooking, travelling and her garden (The first 2 falling into a few of my favourite things!!). Plus I fell in love with the fact that she has a Julia Child (my other obsession) idea of completing 50 recipes that she hasn’t yet made. In fact, I loved this idea so much, I might actually try to put together something similar!

I thoroughly enjoyed browsing her site – trying to decide on what to make… would it be Honey beer Bread or Old Fashioned Rhubarb Pudding Cake (because I adore Rhubarb!!!) or this bubble up pizza?

But I realized that we are both big lovers of biscuits & all things bread… so when I saw this recipe for Butter dips… I was sold. (I could eat bread for breakfast, lunch and dinner… and all snacks in between….) and of course… butter… what more can a woman like me ask for????

image1

OMG… these are delicious!!!! I made mine in muffin trays (made 10) and we scoffed half of them straight out the oven with cups of coffee for a late breakfast.

image2

Butter Dip Quick Bread

1/4 cup butter
1 1/4 cup flour
2 teaspoons sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2/3 cup of buttermilk (or regular milk)

  • Cut butter into pieces and place into a microwave dish to melt
  • While the butter is melting, mix dry ingredients together in a large bowl
  • Stir in the buttermilk/milk (staring with 2/3 of a cup and adding more if necessary) to make a loose dough
  • Press the dough in the pan over the melted butter
  • using a knife, cut the dough into pieces
  • Bake for 12-15minutes at 225C (450F)

image3image4

15 thoughts on “Butter Dips (SRC)

  1. I have never heard of butter dips either which might be a good thing for my waistline as these look too fantastic not to eat the whole tray. By the way, love the idea of making 50 Julia Child recipes – sounds like a fun challenge.

  2. Pingback: The Sisterhood of World Bloggers | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a comment