Chocolate Courgette Cake

One morning I woke up and thought “are we really eating enough fruit & vegetables?” – because these are the kinds of thoughts that keep my brain occupied at 2am when I should be catching up much needed rest (especially when I know that Little Miss will be up shortly demanding cuddles, nappy changes, milk and more love <3).

So I did the maths… a minimum of 5 fruit & vegetable portions per day… easily done onΒ  most days (especially week days, where I take a packed lunch to work and have at least 2 fruits (mid-morning & mid-afternoon snacks) plus leftovers which have veggies in… and then cook dinner with more veggies later in the day… normally…. sometimes I live on toast as well!) but sometimes we don’t and the vegetables in the fridge start to build up and as per my previous post (chicken, chorizo & chickpea stew) – I am loathe to throw away food.

So I had a glut of courgettes… I had already tried out the oven baked Courgette fries… but what about a courgette cake? So I searched… and found this easy recipe on BBC Good Food Website.

chocolate courgette cake 1

At first glance, HIM raised his eyebrows at the thought of so much grated courgette in a chocolate cake… but after a bite of the finished product, he had to admit that it was “quite” good … which in his books means great things! I didn’t add nuts as per their recipe, but in future I would… as the cooked grated courgette in the cake already gives a nutty flavour and the texture of chopped nuts would take this cake to the next level.

Would I make it again? yes… it was easy & tasty and a sneaky way to add extra vegetables into your “treat” time!

Chocolate Courgette Cake

350g Self-raising flour
50g cocoa powder
1 teaspoon cinnamon (they used mixed spice)
175ml olive oil
375g caster sugar
3 eggs
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 medium courgettes, grated
(150g roughly chopped nuts – optional)
200g dark chocolate
100ml cream

  • In a large bowl, combine flour, cocoa, cinnamon & a pinch of salt
  • In another bowl, combine oil, sugar, eggs, sugar, vanilla essence & grated courgette
  • Mix the dry & wet mixtures until just combined
  • Pour into a greased cake tin (I used a springform tin)
  • Bake for 40-45min at 180C
  • Cool for 10minutes before turning onto a wire rack to cool fully
  • To make the icing – bring the cream to the boil and pour over the broken chocolate, stirring to make a smooth ganache, which you can pour/spread over the top of the cooled cake

chocolate courgette cake 2

One thought on “Chocolate Courgette Cake

Leave a Reply

