Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake (SRC)

As some of you regular readers will know – I participate in an international blog swap called  The Secret Recipe Club every month.

newsrcbanner

What that means, is that on a specific Monday of a month – I have the opportunity to share (or as we call it “reveal”) a recipe that I have recreated from a fellow blogger in my group. The fun part is that it is a bit like Secret Santa – because you have no idea whose blog had yours until this specific “reveal”… but of course – each blogger gets details of their assigned blog a month in advance… meaning that there is more than sufficient time to review recipes, make a few, taste, photograph & blog about one of them.

This month – I was allocated the “Pale Yellow” blog, a turtle loving science educator who adores baking & blogging in her spare time – because as she so elegantly puts it “this is how I share and show love” – and seriously, you can’t beat someone who loves baking & sharing like she does!

I had 3 recipes that really appealed to me – Strawberry cupcakes, Vanilla Sprinkle cookies/biscuits and the Lemon Loaf Cake… finally deciding upon the latter as I had already indulged in 2kg of strawberries over the previous week!

DSC_0146

The Lemon drizzle cake (as I like to call it) reminds me of Mary Berry’s recipe… which means that it will be a sure winner.. right?!?

And it was! Super easy to make and super easy to consume… the only thing that irk-ed me, was the time involved in making a syrup between the cake being baked, waiting for it to cool and then adding the icing – clearly, I am not very good in “waiting”… Would I deviate from this in future? Probably not…as the syrup keeps the cake moist and tasty for days afterwards (if it actually lasts that long!) – so although somewhat time consuming, it was worth it!

DSC_0121

Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake

1/2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup non-fat Greek yogurt
1 cup sugar
3 eggs
lemon zest  from 2 lemons
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
1/2 cup +vegetable oil
1/3 lemon juice, freshly juiced (~4 lemons)

  • Mix together yoghurt, sugar, eggs, lemon zest, vanilla, oil and lemon juice
  • Sift in flour, baking powder & salt – and fold in until just combined
  • Place into a greased loaf pan
  • Bake for 5omin at 180C
  • While the loaf cools, melt 1/3 cup sugar & 1/3 cup lemon juice in a saucepan to make a simple syrup
  • Pour over the cake while it is still slightly warm
  • And then allow to cool completely before adding the icing (lemon juice/water mixed with icing sugar)

DSC_0148

 

10 thoughts on “Lemon Drizzle Loaf Cake (SRC)

  1. Oh another lemon recipe!! I love lemon loaf cakes with yogurt in them…they are so wonderful. This looks mouthwatering to me and I’d love a slice! Great choice for SRC!

  2. I don’t think this cake would last this long in our house. It looks super moist and delicious. Just popping in from group C to say you did a fantastic job with this SRC post.

  3. Pingback: Quick Crustless Savoury Tart (Quiche) | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a comment