Takumi – Japanese Restaurant (Brussels)

Recently, HIM and I ventured out in our neighbourhood to finally try out the Japanese inspired Restaurant on Lesbroussart in Ixelles – called Takumi.

Takumi 1

I had read such wonderful reviews about the place on S Marks the Spots & The Foodalist blogs – that I knew that this was where I wanted to have lunch on my birthday.

It is a dinky little spot – offering a little counter space (4 bar stools) as well as seating for about 20 – decorated in simple tons of bamboo-style wood & splashes of red (Plus we both loved the funky design of the blue paper placemats as well as the well placed pictures on the wall. Clean and fresh is how I would describe it!

Takumi 8 Takumi 3 Takumi 2

We started off by sipping on their home made jasmine iced tea (3,50€ per jar)

Takumi 7

and checking out their menu (short… but fulfilling all needs!)

Takumi 9

They offer a lunchtime special whereby you can enjoy 3 gyoza’s & a rice bowl for 13€ – so we were sorted!

HIM ordered the 3 Ginger Pork Gyozas while I got the 3 Chicken Classic Gyozas… OMG… so good… so fresh and I could have inhaled more! (Normal 6 cost 7€; 8 cost 9€ and 10 cost 10€)

Takumi 6

For our rice bowls (otherwise known as Donburi) – HIM ordered the Niku Miso (rice topped with minced pork with miso, ginger & cucumber 13€)

Takumi 4

I got the Karaage (rice topped with crumbed fried chicken, cucumber and sweet soy sauce 13€)

Takumi 5

I tried HIM’s and love it… definitely what I would order the next time that I am there. Mine… as tasty as it was – was a bit disappointing – but only because of my own personal aversion to chicken skin… as they had taken pieces of chicken (thigh/breast, etc) and battered and deep-fried them with the skin still on – which always made it very juicy – but just a little on the fatty side for me.

Would I go back? Definitely – it ranks up there along with places like Knees to Chin & La Piola for a quick and easy dinner in the neighbourhood.

TAKUMI

address: Rue Lesbroussart 8, 1050, Ixelles, Brussels, BELGIUM

telephone: +32 488 43 04 42

website: http://www.takumi.be

email: takumibruxelles@gmail.com

Opening Hours: Monday: 18h30-22h00; Tuesday-Wednesday: 12h00-14h00 & 18h30-22h00 and Thursday-Saturday: 12h00-14h00 & 18h30-23h00

One thought on “Takumi – Japanese Restaurant (Brussels)

  1. Pingback: Why I loved 2015 | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

