Cheese, leek and potato pasties

Looking back at my cooking attempts recently – I am seriously starting to wonder if I might be *accidentally* turning into a vegetarian (*shudders somewhat*)… this isn’t intentional, it just seems that the recipes that jump up and down saying *TRY ME, TRY ME* are indeed vegetarian options (or in other cases, cakes and biscuits)…

While, having said that – I did try a recipe that I found in the March 2012 issue of Good Food magazine (seriously now, they really should just consider employing me, eh???) … I didn’t have all the required ingredients (so bear with me on my adaptions)…

Leek, Cheese and Potato Pasties

2small potatoes (about 300g, cut into 1cm cubes)

knob of butter

2small leeks (split halfways and then finely sliced)

2Tablespoons cream

flour for dusting

500g short crust pastry (I used puff pastry and reduced the cooking time by 10min)

140g cheese (I mixed cheddar, Gruyère and half a ball of buffalo mozzarella)

1 egg (beaten)

  1. Boil the potatoes in salted water for 5-8minutes until tender but retaining their shape
  2. Melt butter in a saucepan and add leeks – cook for 10-12minutes until soft
  3. Drain Potatoes and add to the leeks with seasoning
  4. Stir in cream and leave to cool a little
  5. on a floured surface, roll out the pastry to the thickness of a 1pound/rand/euro coin 🙂
  6. Use a bowl to cut out 6 x15cm circles
  7. Mix cheese with leek/potato mixture and pile a mound into the centre of each pastry circle
  8. brush around edges with egg, bring together and crimp the edges with your fingers to seal (I have to admit that I struggled with this one!!)
  9. Bake at 180C for 40-45min

Leave a comment