Lime and Beer Cake

Remember how I told you that the wonderful guys at Belgium Beer Tourism sent me 2 beers???

I used the one, Kasteel Rouge to make Chocolate, Banana & Beer Muffins…. and now I have been staring at the other bottle and debating on how to incorporate it into another recipe!

While flipping through the latest issue of Olive magazine (October 2013)… the last page was dedicated to *cake of the month* (a reader submission from Wil Law) and his twist on a lemon sponge… which I immediately decided would be the inspiration for the La Chouffe beer that I had!

lime and beer cap

I adapted the recipe by making one cake instead of 2 round tins…. and therefore did not require the buttercream filling. I also adjusted the lime icing quantities.

Is this a recipe that I would make again? YES – it isn’t too sweet – but remains moist, light and tasty and the lime flavours are exactly the kind of zing you need!!

Lime and Beer Cake

lime and beer cake final

100g butter, softened

200g sugar

2 eggs

225g self-raising flour

200ml La Chouffe

2 limes (zest of 1 & juice of 2)

65g icing sugar

lime and beer cake ingredients

  • Cream butter and sugar together
  • lime and beer cake step 1
  • Add eggs, beating between each addition
  • lime and beer cake step 2
  • alternative mixing in flour and beer
  • lime and beer cake step 3
  • Add zest of 1 lime & juice of 1 lime
  • lime and beer cake step 4
  • Place into greased baking tin/ring
  • lime and beer cake pre oven
  • Bake for 30min at 180C
  • Remove from oven and cool
  • lime and beer cake post oven
  • Mix together icing sugar and juice of the other lime and spoon over the cake
  • lime and beer cake final 1

One thought on “Lime and Beer Cake

Leave a comment