Indian Rice Salad with Chicken

As I start to work through the pile of magazine recipe cut-outs (7years worth), I am drawn to the fact that there is so many things that I want to make… and so little time!!!!!!

This particular recipe was from the BBC Good Food Magazine (issue August 2013) & is perfect for the holiday season – when there are leftovers to be used up!!!! I adapted it slightly based on what was in my fridge – using basil leaves instead of coriander, I added a tin of peach slices which I diced up, I used mayo instead of creating a dressing & I omitted the blackbeans & pomegranate seeds.

All in all – this is definitely a great idea for clearing out the fridge!!!

Indian Rice Salad with chicken

indian rice salad 3

2 cups of uncooked rice (even better if you have leftover cooked rice!)
1 teaspoon tumeric
1 teaspoon of medium curry powder
100g cashew nuts
1/2 cucumber, chopped
1 chicken breast sliced (or whatever leftover fowl meat you might have!)
Fresh herbs – finely chopped
1 tin of peaches, chopped
2 Tablespoons of mayo

  • Cook rice with tumeric & curry powder
  • Rinse with cold water to cool down & drain well
  • Mix all ingredients together & serve

indian rice salad 1

Apparently this recipe can last 2-3days in the fridge … but it is so tasty, I would be surprised if it lasted that long!

Leave a comment