Blueberry Muffins

Remember me telling you about that pile of recipe cuttings that I have? Well, the pile seems to grow more each month than I actually get a chance to try out… Well – I am now trying to make a concerted effort to try at least one new recipe from the aforementioned pile per week…

This recipe has been in the pile for a while…and I can’t tell you how long – because the page doesn’t have issue details on it anywhere – but it comes from the Great British Food magazine – which is a beautifully printed piece of publication (and not just because I love paper & work in the industry!)…. but because the paper that they use is thick & glossy & the images really do “pop” off the pages… and of course, having 50 recipes per issue also helps!

The recipe originally called for Blackberries – but I used blueberries instead (as HIM recently told me that of all the bakes that I have done – my banana & blueberry muffins were his favourite…)  – and I am sure that you could use any mixture of berries (except maybe strawberries which don’t seem to stand up well to baking (in my opinion)). I also reduced the amount of sour cream to 200ml (instead of 250ml) & I used 2 punnets of blueberries (total of 200g) which was more than enough (recipe called for 300g berries).

In terms of recipes – this was super easy, quick & made for an excellent breakfast!

Blueberry muffins

blueberry muffins 4

200g flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
2 large eggs
200ml sour cream
2 Tablespoons milk
150g caster sugar
120g butter (melted)
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
200g blueberries

blueberry ingredients

  • Sieve flour, baking powder & salt together
  • In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, sour cream, milk, sugar, butter & vanilla essence together

blueberry mix

  • Add the wet mixture to the dry – as well as berries and gently stir a few times (don’t overmix)
  • Grease 12 muffin cases & place mixture evenly into each one
  • Bake at 180C for 25-30min (until cooked through)

blueberry muffins 3 blueberry muffins 2

"Want one?"

“Want one?”

Printable version

4 thoughts on “Blueberry Muffins

  1. Pingback: Quick Crustless Savoury Tart (Quiche) | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a comment