Lemon Icebox Pie (SRC)

Yippee yeah, yippee yeah… it’s SRC (Secret Recipe Club) monthly reveal time again!

newsrcbanner

For those who haven’t been up to speed on what SRC is – it is a Secret-Santa blog swap, whereby each blogger receives another bloggers website to check out & make a recipe from – then the entire group reveals their post on the same day at the same time… TA DA!

This month, I got A Spoonful of Thyme – how brilliant is that name??? I love the playfulness of Thyme versus Time šŸ™‚ especially when we talk about a cooking blog! Kate follows in her Grandma’s (and mothers) footsteps by embracing the kitchen and cooking for others with her whole heart. And I love how Kate says as a child she was given the “important job” of sitting on the porch swing to watch her Grandma’s pies cool down – something she took very seriously. I have to be honest… I couldn’t be trusted around my Grandma’s baking… I used to steal her fresh-out-of-the-oven biscuits and go & sit (ahum *hide*)Ā in the backyard tree to eat them… hee hee… So KUDU’s to Kate!

Did I mention that she has been part of a *gourmet group* for 33years?? *RESPECT*

I had so much fun reading her blog and scouring her recipe index – wondering if I should make her coconut cream bars (because I also have a lifelong loveĀ affair with coconut), sprinkle pudding cookies (because I have never even considered using pudding in a cookie!!), this beef & beer pie (becauseĀ the picture alone had me drooling)Ā and cheesy stuffed pull apart bread (aka crack bread) – because who doesn’t love bubbly melted cheese, bacon & bread, eh?

lemon icebox pie 2

But I finally decided on making her Lemon Icebox Pie… because this warm summer weather in BrusselsĀ has meĀ screaming for fresh, tangy types of desserts… and also because I am a sucker for any lemon based desserts as well šŸ™‚

lemon icebox pie 1

Lemon Icebox Pie

130g crushed biscuits (Marie or digestive)
9 Tablespoons butter, melted
1 cup cream
1 tin (340g) sweetened condensed milk
2 large lemons, juiced (& zest of 1)

  • Line in a loaf pan with greased parchment paper
  • CombineĀ biscuits and melted butter in a bowl and press into pan to make a base and place in fridge
  • Beat the cream until you have stiff peaks
  • Add condensed milk, lemon juice & lemon zest & mix well
  • The mixture will be thick (as the lemon juice reacts with mixture)
  • Pour over the crust
  • sprinkle more lemon zest over the top
  • Cover & refrigerate until set (at least 2hours)
  • Cut into squares and serve

lemon icebox pie 3

10 thoughts on “Lemon Icebox Pie (SRC)

  1. Good morning! I cannot believe that we had each other’s blog! How cool is that? You made a great selection for SRC. I hope you enjoyed them as much as we did. Thank you, for all of the kind words, too. And, I just realized the reason I had to watch the pie cool when I spent the week end with my granddaughter….little ones running in the kitchen need to have a good activity. My Grandmother found mine outside! Loved cruising through your blog!

  2. This looks so delicious and would be a really easy tasty dessert for summer! I love that it doesn’t involve any cooking and you could make it in an icebox for easy storage in the fridge too!

  3. What a lovely and mouth watering dessert. Of this is super yummy and wish I could taste it this minute.
    I am following your blog and would like to know if you may be interested to be a Guest poster with us, and share some of your awesome recipes on our blog?

    Have a look at:
    https://cookandenjoyrecipes.wordpress.com/2016/09/09/update-fellow-bloggers-sharing-is-caring-recipe-exchange/ and leave me a note in the comments of this post, with a link to your recipe, if youā€™re interested. That will be just fantastic. Hope to hear from you soon šŸ˜Š

Leave a Reply

