Bourbon Biscuit Brownies

Everyone who knows me, knows how much I love trying out new recipes… which is why my food magazine addiction keeps publishers in business…

So when I saw the picture of this recipe on the front cover of the Olive Magazine (May 2016 issue) – I knew it was a *must make*

bourbon biscuit brownies 1

I made one fatal mistake… I left them in the oven too long .. so the middle wasn’t as squishy as it should have been. Taste wise… they were awesome and I would definitely try them again… especially the level of chocolate (which is SUPER high). I even threw in a handful of blueberries… Mmmm

bourbon biscuit brownies 2

Bourbon Biscuit Brownies

16 Bourbon Biscuits
100g butter
200g chocolate (they say dark, but I used a mix of dark & milk)
4 eggs
250g caster sugar
100g flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
30g cocoa powder

  • Keep 5 of the biscuits to one side. Using a sharp knife, cut down the middle to separate the side. Roughly chop the reminder of the biscuits
  • Melt butter & chocolate together over a water bath and leave to cool to room temperature
  • Whisk together eggs & sugar until mixture is pale & double in volume
  • fold in the chocolate mixture
  • Sift in the dry ingredients and fold in
  • Stir in the chopped biscuits (and a handful of blueberries if you are adventurous like me)
  • Spoon into a greased baking tin
  • Bake for 20-25min at 180C

bourbon biscuit brownies 3

Leave a Reply

