Roasted butternut and blue cheese frittata

Using up leftovers is a new recipe is always fulfilling – even more so when the meal turns out tasty. However,  I must point out that HIM wasn’t a huge fan as he said the frittata was actually too sweet… owing to the fact that I used deliciously sweet roasted butternut – but I enjoyed it…

A frittata is essentially a crustless quiche… and because there are times when I don’t have store-bought ready-made pastry in my fridge (in fact… almost never) and because I was too lazy to whip up my own pastry on a week night – I figured that a frittata would be perfectly acceptable as a mid-week meal.

Right?

My inspiration came from Woolworths Taste Magazine (online) recipe for a roasted butternut quiche – but I didn’t use the puff pastry or the grana padano… but rather used up some leftover blue cheese (from my birthday afternoon tea).

Would I make it again? yes… but I might add some bacon or something really salty to balance the flavour combinations of sweet (the roasted butternut) and the creamy (the blue cheese). This recipe makes 3 decent sized portions.

butternut frittata

Roasted Butternut and blue cheese frittata

1 peeled butternut, cubed (~500g)
150g blue cheese, crumbled (more or less depending on your own personal taste)
3 eggs
200g cream cheese (room temperature)
Olive Oil
salt & pepper

  • Place cubed butternut on a roasting tray sprinkled with olive oil and salt/pepper – and roast in a preheated oven (230C) for 15-20min, until cooked
  • Remove from heat and allow to cool
  • Place into an oven-proof baking dish with the blue cheese
  • Beat eggs with the cream cheese & pour over the butternut & cheese
  • Place in an pre-heated oven (180C) for 20-30minutes (slightly brown and set)

butternut frittata 2

Leave a Reply

