Apricot Jam

While my mommabear was visiting us in December – she helped me make up some plum jam and a quick berry jam… and it has been so satisfying to give some bottles away as gifts, but also to be able to slather some onto toast in the comfort and pride that *I made this*

While dad was visiting us earlier in the month, I spotted a wonderful selection of apricots at the Flagey market. And since I had recently seen this apricot jam recipe from Chef in Disguise (a fellow blogger in our Secret Recipe Club) – I knew that this was something that I wanted to try out!

apricot jam 1

Would I make it again? Good question… it smelt amazing, but the taste was a bit tart (not that I mind, but it is definitely different to the store bought variety) and I think I might have needed to let it cook for a tad bit longer to get it to set thicker. But all in all – a good effort, I think! 🙂

apricot jam 2

Apricot Jam

500g Apricots (cut in half & pip removed)
250g sugar
Tablespoon lemon Juice

  • Place all the ingredients in a pot and over a medium heat bring to the boil
  • Reduce heat and leave to simmer until 1/3 reduced (or more if you want it thicker)
  • Ladle into jars and leave to cool

apricot jam 3

4 thoughts on “Apricot Jam

  1. Pics look great – but why add lemon juice. That may have made it tart. Also, when I have made jam, its 50/50 for fruit/sugar….. Dunno….. DADxxxxx

  2. Hello Maxine

    Thank you kindly for the shout out and for trying the recipe
    The jam may have turned out a little tart because the apricots were not sweet to start with
    I usually use super ripe and sweet apricots. You can always add more sugar
    The traditional way is 1:1
    fruit: sugar
    by weight but I find that too sweet, it overwhelms the fruit flavor but that is just a matter of personal preference

  3. Pingback: Jules apricot and coconut squares | whyiamnotskinny

  4. Pingback: Pumpkin Pancakes | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

