Carrot and Banana Cake

Vegetables in a cake means it is ok to have more than one slice, right? Right???

carrot and banana cake

I had a few banana’s that were starting to ripen quicker than we could eat them (I mean, I can only eat one a day… and soon as they get ripe & soft, I am immediately put of) and of course… carrots. We always have carrots – for dipping in hummus, for the base of soups, to boil as a side vegetable when I am really lazy… etc

I found this recipe on the Good to Know website (my first time visiting) and I have to admit it was a really easy recipe to make. Instead of using mixed spice – I used half a teaspoon of cinnamon.

Would I make it again? Yes.. Yes…Yes

carrot and banana cake 2

Carrot and Banana Cake

280g Self raising flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
60g raisins
170g sugar
2 ripe banana’s (peeled & mashed)
220g carrots (peeled & grated)
3 eggs (beaten)
170ml sunflower oil

  • Sift flour, baking powder & cinnamon
  • Stir in raisins & sugar
  • Beat eggs with oil and add to dry ingredients along with carrots & banana
  • Bake in a greased cake tin for 50minutes at 180C
  • Leave to cool on a wire cooling tray

Cream cheese Icing

50g Butter (softened)
300g Icing sugar
150g cream cheese

  • Beat butter with icing sugar until it resembles coarse breadcrumbs
  • Beat in the cream cheese until smooth
  • Cut cake in half and sandwich together with half of the icing. Use the rest of the icing to cover the top of the cake

carrot and banana cake 3

Leave a Reply

