Healthy Vegetable Samosas

My recipe choice is often based on the food I have in the fridge… so when my lovely Greek colleague (who saved my bacon by being my replacement for 4months while I was on maternity leave) gave me the contents of her fridge/cupboard before she returned to Athens… I decided to find a recipe to use up the Filo Pastry that was included in this goodie bag!

I have a whole range of Weight Watchers cookbooks (even if I don’t follow the program) and found this recipe in one of them (but you can also find it online here).

I adapted it slightly by using a teaspoon of medium curry powder mixture instead of their mix of cumin/coriander/chilli/turmeric… etc . And I do love the idea of oven baking as opposed to frying… and for any purists out there… I am well aware that filo pastry is not the pastry normally used for Samosas… so these aren’t traditionally Indian, but they sure do taste good!

IMG_1361

Would I make it again? Yes – especially when I have wonderful Sous Chef’s like M and Tabs who rolled and made the gorgeous triangles … while I only added value by making the mixture 🙂

Healthy Vegetable Samosas

2 medium potatoes, peeled & diced
1 medium carrot, peeled & diced
1 onion, finely chopped
50g peas
1 heaped teaspoon medium curry powder
1 garlic clove, crushed
5 sheets Filo Pastry (or until you use up all the mixture)

  • Boil carrots & potatoes in a pot of water until softened
  • Drain & partially mash
  • In a frying pan, cook onion, garlic & peas
  • Stir into the potato mixture along with the curry powder
  • Cut filo pastry into strips
  • Placing a tablespoon of the mixture on one side, fold over and over to make a triangle
  • use a bit of water to seal the mixture when you come to the end
  • Bake at 160C for 30min

DSC_0358

One thought on “Healthy Vegetable Samosas

Leave a Reply

