White Bean Dip

I can’t help it… I am a snacker…

I adore nibbling on hummus and crudités when I get home from work around 5.30pm… or a handful of nuts… sometimes a bowl of crisps or even a quick (sneaky) chocolate truffle – all before I have even taken out the ingredients to cook the evening meal… and sometimes WHILE I am cooking dinner!

I had a tin of white butter beans in the cupboard… and had made a chickpea hummus a few weekends ago with some girlfriends… so decided to scour the net for a simple but tasty recipe. Thank goodness, I found this one on David Lebovitz website… not only had I already been following his Parisian life via Instagram, but I love reading this site for recipe inspiration as well!

IMG_1362

Would I make it again? Definitely – and leaving it in the fridge for a while really seems to bring out more of the flavours… at least in my humble opinion (if it actually lasts long enough after making it :)). I didn’t use the same herbs as he did and of course, I used tinned (already cooked beans) instead of soaking and cooking the dry version. But all in all – a definite winner!

I served mine with crackers… but David also says a good grainy bread compliments it well!

White Bean Dip

1 tin butter beans, drained & washed
2 Tablespoons of the liquid from the tin
1 clove of garlic, crushed
handful of parsley, chopped roughly
2 Tablespoons of olive oil
juice of one lemon
Salt/Pepper to taste

  • As simple as placing all the ingredients into the blender or food processor and blending until smooth.
  • You may need to add a bit more olive oil if you want a smoother consistency (but I like mine with a bit more texture!)

DSC_0364 DSC_0365

One thought on “White Bean Dip

Leave a Reply

