Blueberry Lemon breakfast bread (SRC)

That’s right – it is Secret Recipe Club time again!

newsrcbanner

For those who are not aware – SRC is a Secret Santa kind of blog swap – whereby bloggers are given the blog address of another blogger and on a specific day (depending on the group you belong to) you “reveal” whose blog you had and which of their recipes you tried out! It is super fun and the support in each group is just overwhelming!

This month I got Famish Fish, Finicky Shark as my blog – written by Saundra, mom of 3 boys & a little girl – and partner to Johnny – high school sweetheart, true loveΒ & soul mate (when people write things like this it makes my heart all warm and fuzzy… and you just know that you are going to enjoy “working” with them!). Her blog was born because her middle son, Jesse, was diagnosed with autism & ADHD and his diet plays a big role in how well he manages… so the food on her blog is healthy, happy & appealing!!

If anyone deserves a “wonder woman” award – it is Saundra! She not only works a full day, but also actively participates in therapy sessions for Jesse, spends quality time at Bible Study, attends her children’s soccer/karate, makes sure that there is date night… AND cooks dinner most nights. (And did I mention that she is a fan of the outdoors)… hello!! Bring the awards over to her now!

Saundra had my blog in February SRC – and made my sticky Chinese chicken marinade along with fried rice

I spent a long time reading her blog… in fact – I started reviewing her recipes the day that I got given her blog as my assignment – which was a month ago! I drooled over the Garden Ginger apple dumplings, Asian style stuffed zucchini, Tea rose macarons & chocolate churrovers ….

DSC_0344

but I finally decided upon the healthy blueberry lemon breakfast bread… which I made and took to our church’s meet n greet. I didn’t add the flax or the apple sauce… and it still came out perfectly (in my opinion). Would I make it again? Yes… super easy and a great sunday afternoon (or morning) kind of treat.

DSC_0345

Blueberry Lemon breakfast bread (cake)

2 cups self raising flour
1 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
zest of one lemon
2 cups blueberries (I used fresh)
2 eggs
1/3 cup lemon juice
1/3 cup milk
1/4 cup oil

  • Sift dry ingredients
  • Stir in blueberries & lemon zest
  • Mix eggs, oil, lemon juice & milk together
  • Carefully fold in wet mixture to dry mixture
  • Pour batter into a greased baking pan
  • Bake for 45-60min at 180C
  • Cool before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely
  • Cut into 12 squares

DSC_0347

12 thoughts on “Blueberry Lemon breakfast bread (SRC)

Leave a Reply

