Birthday Cake

Please tell me how it is possible that the days, weeks, months and even years are flying by so fast??? I am pretty sure that it was just the other day that I was looking forward to turning *28* (that secret age that all woman love)… and now I look back thinking “Was I really 28, xx number of years ago????”

Anyhoo – as an intro to birthday cake baking – this is also where I start to share that the future will probably hold more Children’s Birthday Cake creations than adult ones… so lets just sit back, relax and enjoy this adult version. (And no, an adult version doesn’t mean that there is alcohol involved… although that probably would have been a fun idea too!)

I found a recipe in the BBC Good Food Magazine for a Raspberry ripple cake… and although I didn’t follow the full recipe – I did love the sponge cake portion so much that I had to use it here!

I also did my own “inspired” icing – using a combination of cream cheese, butter, cocoa & icing sugar.

Would I make again? Yes, this sponge cake recipe is a sure make-again winner for any celebration cake!

birthday cake

BIRTHDAY CAKE

300g butter
335g flour
3 teaspoons baking powder
400g caster sugar
6 large eggs (separated)
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
185ml milk
80g raspberry jam (for the layers)

  • Beat butter & 300g of sugar until light & fluffy using an electric beater
  • Beat in egg yolks (one at a time)
  • Add the vanilla extract
  • In another bowl, sift flour & baking powder
  • Turn the electric down to low in the butter mixture and add a third of the flour mixture followed by half of the milk
  • Repeat
  • then add final third of flour mixture
  • Place egg whites in a clean bowl and whisk with remaining sugar to create silky soft peaks
  • Gradually fold the egg mixture in cake batter
  • Divide into 2 (or 3) greased & lined baking tins
  • Bake at 180C for 30minutes (or until a cocktail stick inserted comes out clean)
  • Leave to cool for 10minutes before removing from tin and cooling completely

I used raspberry jam to sandwich the 2 sponges together and lathered on my own icing concoction… so feel free to get creative here!

birthday cake 3

Leave a Reply

