Coconut Macaroons

When I first starting reading all the Brussels blogs for Brussels Food Friends – I instantly started to associate certain bloggers with their blog posts….

So for the longest time – I always thought of Coconut Macaroons when I thought of Sarah’s Little Kitchen… she had made them a few months ago, I had shown the picture and recipe to HIM…and he had confessed to loving these coconut treats… so I promised to make them… I just lost time in actually getting around to making it!

coconut macaroons 1

This past weekend – I finally got a little burst of energy (something that has been sorely lacking over the last 2 months – but that is a whole other story!)… and I decided to make up a batch.

There are 2 things that I did incorrectly… I didn’t add enough desiccated coconut… and I decided to use mini muffin trays instead of a grease-proof paper on a baking tray… this lead to one problem… the bottoms remains in the tray… which meant that I spent the better part of the afternoon eating the bottoms directly out of the muffin tray ….

BUT I can tell you that these are DELICIOUS and an absolute make-again kind of recipe!

coconut macaroons 2

Coconut Macaroons

5 egg whites
225 g sugar
275 g dried desiccated coconut
1 teaspoon of orange blossom essence

  • Place egg whites & sugar into a saucepan
  • Place saucepan on the stovetop over a low heat, whisking until sugar is melted and the mixture is white & foamy
  • Remove from heat and add the coconut and orange blossom essence & combine well
  • Place dollops onto a greased baking tray
  • Bake at 180C for 15-20min until brown on top (and still soft in the centre)

coconut macaroons 4

2 thoughts on “Coconut Macaroons

  1. “… the bottoms remains in the tray… which meant that I spent the better part of the afternoon eating the bottoms directly out of the muffin tray ….” – you should never ‘suffer’ alone in these kind of kind of situations. If ever you need help with horrible chores like these, please do not hesitate to contact me I’ll gladly come by and give a hand, food bloggers should help each other whenever possible. 🙂

Leave a Reply

