Gluten Free peanut butter Banana muffins (SRC)

It feels like ages since I participated in the Secret Recipe Club reveal – but that is because the last post was on Monday 3rd November (Hidden Christmas Tree Cupcakes), plus there was a break over the festive season & also because I offered to swap out of Group A so that the numbers in each group were more representative & even – and was therefore re-assigned to Group B. Therefore this is my first reveal in Group B… and the first reveal for 2015.

newsrcbanner

For those who are not aware – The Secret Recipe Club is an international community of food bloggers – whereby once a month – each group reveals a recreation of a recipe from “someone else” blog. Now “someone else” is a blog that has been assigned to you – normally 3weeks in advance & you get the opportunity to check out their blog and make your selection from anything that they have made in the past!

This month – I got Rebekah’s blog called Rebekah’s Family, Food & Fun – a mom to 5 (yes – you read that right – FIVE) children who also lives with her husband, 2 dogs & 5 chickens in Arkansas…. Now what makes her truly amazing is not only the fact that she also homeschools all of the children (ranging in age from 11 to 3), is active in her church community or runs – but that she also makes the time & effort to churn out some seriously delicious looking recipes – most of which are healthy too!

I managed to narrow down the task to 4 awesome looking (and reading) options:

  1. Deep dish sloppy joe casserole – this had all the makings of a pizza & lasagna mix that had me seriously drooling!
  2. Pineapple pie (this would have been made if I could actually find a tin of crushed pineapple in the local grocery store in Brussels!!!)
  3. Pizza rolls – no further words required….

But I finally settled on her Gluten Free peanut butter banana muffin recipe – not because I was particularly drawn to the gluten-free idea – but because I had loads of banana’s just waiting to be used!

I adapted the recipe by omitting the chocolate chips, adding an extra banana & using a hand held blender instead of a food processor – now I am not sure which of these contributed to the minor “dip” that my muffins took in the centre after removing them from the oven – but looks were not everything – as these muffins tasted AMAZING! Plus they proved to be quick, easy & what I would call guilt-free!

I also made 12 normal sized muffins instead of 40 mini muffins as Rebekah had.

Interesting enough – the day after baking – I found that the peanut butter flavour was less strong…or maybe the banana flavour had intensified – whichever it was – I loved them and would definitely make them again!

gluten free banana muffins 1

Gluten Free Peanut Butter Banana Muffins

3 medium bananas, peeled
2 large eggs
1 cup peanut butter
4 Tablespoon maple syrup
1 Tablespoon vanilla extract
1/2 tsp. baking soda
pinch salt

  • Place bananas & eggs into a bowl and use an egg beater to mix together
  • Add the peanut butter, maple syrup, vanilla essense & bicarb and mix with beater until combined
  • Place into greased muffin trays
  • Bake for 15-20min at 180C

gluten free banana muffins 3

http://secret-recipe-club.blogspot.com/

8 thoughts on “Gluten Free peanut butter Banana muffins (SRC)

  1. Welcome to Group B! Thanks so much for the lovely comments about my blog! 🙂 I’m glad the muffins worked out for you….and I really hope you’re able to try the Pineapple Pie sometime – it’s so good!

  2. I bet these were wonderful!! Peanut butter, bananas, maple, and vanilla – – I’m there! 😀 Great choice for the SRC! 😀

Leave a Reply

