Cinnamon Swirl Buns (SRC)

woohoo – it is SRC time again!

SRC-logo-440

A reminder to those who are not aware of The SRC (The Secret Recipe Club) concept:

Think of a recipe-swap blogger community – whereby each blogger in a group gets assigned another bloggers website on a certain day each month, with the main task of trying out one of the recipes. Then writing about it, photographing it & sharing it – but only on the special “REVEAL” day…. so there is much anticipation of seeing who got your blog and what they decided to make from it… and of course, seeing all the other bloggers in your group publish mouth-watering recipes from each other!

It is truly what I would call a community-building initiative amongst food bloggers worldwide!

So I was excited to see that the I got The Heritage Cook as my assignment… Jane Bonacci, a native Californian, has a passion for cooking, baking & writing. She has titles that extend from food & travel writer, recipe developer, event manager, editor and tester to passionate cook & baker… so I just KNEW that I would find multiple recipes on her site that I would be drooling over!

Another inspiring fact about Jane (The Heritage Cook) is that when she found out that she was gluten-intolerant in 2012, she didn’t give up on her kitchen passion – she just adapted it and therefore she has an amazing array of gluten-free recipes!! (you can find tmore details under her “gluten-free” tab)

However – the recipe that I am about to share with you… is not gluten-free…. but it is delicious!!

I adapted the recipe by adding in a cup of mixed dried fruit (cranberries, raisins, sultana’s)… and I omitted the icing (as I am not a fan of icing and I really felt that the rolls/buns were sweet enough without it!)

Cinnamon Swirl Buns

chelsea bun final

Rolls

170g butter
¾ cup milk
½ cup sugar
2 Tablespoons dry yeast
1 cup water
3 eggs
5 to 6 cups bread flour or all-purpose flour
½ teaspoon salt
1 cup mixed fruit

Filling

1 cup sugar
1 cup brown sugar
2 Tablespoons cinnamon
120g butter

chelsea buns mix 1

  • Heat butter, milk, and sugar until butter is melted. Leave to cool until to lukewarm
  • chelsea bun butter
  • In a separate bowl, combine flour and salt.
  • Add cooled butter, yeast, water, mixed fruit and eggs into a large bowl (as I don’t have a kitchen-aid or magi-mix… this was all done by hand!)
  • chelsea bun dry
  • Mix together ingredients – until the dough pulls away from the sides of the bowls….
  • Place into a lightly greased bowl, cover with a clean towel and leave to rise in a warm area for 1hr (until doubled in size)
  • While the dough is rising – time to make the filling.
  • Combine sugar, cinnamon & softened butter together
  • Place dough on a lightly floured surface and roll out to make a rectangle (approx.. 30cm x 23cm)
  • chelsea bun dough chelsea bun dough 2
  • Smear the filling mixture across the dough (leaving an 2cm uncovered around all edges)
  • chelsea bun with butter sugar
  • From the long edge, roll the dough together (like a swiss roll J)
  • chelsea bun roll
  • Using a sharp knife, slice approx. 12 even pieces
  • Place rolls cut-size on a greased baking tray with edges touching
  • chelsea bun pan pre-oven 3
  • chelsea bun pan pre-oven 1
  • Leave to rise for approx. 1hr
  • Bake at 180C for 15-20min or until golden

Printer friendly version

6 thoughts on “Cinnamon Swirl Buns (SRC)

  1. Ah Max, you chose one of my old favorites and reminded me that I need to figure out a gluten-free version of them! Thank you for your kind words and I’m glad you enjoyed the rolls. They turned out beautifully and I love your addition of fruit – I’ll do the same!! In a fun twist of fate, I had your blog as my assignment … how fun, we had each other! We loved the recipe I chose! Make sure you hop over to my blog to see the results. Thanks for a great recipe!

  2. Pingback: Baked Frittata with Broccoli and pasta (SRC June 2014 reveal) « whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

