Banana and Bran Cake (adapted recipe from Rumtumtiggs)

I confess …. I partly live in a digital world.

It almost feels as if I have a whole other world of friends out there, most of whom I have never met but stalk follow daily! Their trials, tribulations… reading their blog posts, congratulating & celebrating their victories… and more importantly… checking out their recipes! All via social media… Facebook, Twitter, WordPress, Bloglovin… I just can’t help it.

Anyway – the fantastical @RumTumTiggs posted about a coconut & banana cake that she  had made for her mom’s 71st birthday… well, one glance and I knew that I was going to be baking it that night!

Super excited – I got out all the ingredients (and please note that for some items – I store them in plastic containers for stacking and freshness purposes)… convinced I had everything that I needed… I started…

But … um… that isn’t coconut… it is ground almonds… OOPS.. thankfully, it hadn’t been added yet… so instead the recipe was adapted to become a Banana & Bran cake… wonderfully moist and just as Rumtumtiggs says – it lasted for a few days and actually tasted better on day 2 & 3!!

Although I didn’t add the lemon glaze or coconut topping – it was still a fantastic cake recipe that I will happily return to… and will probably even convert into morning breakfast muffins!

Rumtumtiggs – forgive me for adapting, thank you for sharing and keep those recipes coming!! (And note that I mixed this by hand… no machines were harmed in the process :))

Banana & Bran Cake

nina's cake final

200g butter (room temperature)

1 cup of sugar

2 large eggs

10ml vanilla extract

2 cups of flour

2 cups of wheat bran

2 teaspoons bicarbonate of soda

5ml lemon rind, finely grated

3 large mashed banana

250ml milk

Happy Birthday Nina's Mom!!!

Happy Birthday Tami’s Mom!!!

  • Cream butter & sugar together
  • Add eggs one at a time, beating between additions
  • Add vanilla essence and mix well
  • Sift in flour & bicarb
  • Gently mix in the bran
  • finally – alternate between adding mashed banana, mixing, adding milk, mixing – etc
  • nina's cake mix 1
  • Pour into a greased baking tin (I used a medium roasting pan)
  • nina's cake pre-oven
  • Bake at 180C (fan assisted) for 40-50min
  • TA Da... (the hole in the middle was me with a knife... oops)

    TA Da… (the hole in the middle was me with a knife… oops)

Printer friendly PDF format =>        Print

4 thoughts on “Banana and Bran Cake (adapted recipe from Rumtumtiggs)

  1. Oooo! Justin’s favorite is banana and almonds..so, this is definitely going on my ‘to-surprise’ list. Now, where do you think I’d find vanilla extract, bran, and bicarbonate of soda in this city? 😉

Leave a Reply

