Baba Ganoush (Aubergine Caviar)

I confess… I was never a fan of Aubergines (Eggplants/Brinjal) … until a few years ago. And to be honest, I am not really sure what happened. I can’t tell you a story about some amazing dish that I tried and then fell in love… but I think it was rather more like a “growing up” realisation that I might actually like this vegetable!

So this gorgeous purple gem started to creep into my shopping basket more often than not… and I was either frying it up (recipe here), roasting it with other veggies (recipe here) OR even making a full-blown veggie meal out of it with Moussaka (recipe here).

So what was to stop me from taking it to the next step (and I don’t mean drizzling it with chocolate sauce and eating it for dessert)… turning it into a dip/spread!!

I did the normal googlebox search and landed up on David Lebovitz website with his recipe for Baba Ganoush– which I only slightly adjusted… no chile powder…. and I reduced the quantities somewhat….

Baba Ganoush

baba ghanoush final

1 large aubergine (eggplant/brinjal)

2 Tablespoons of Tahini (sesame paste)

half a teaspoon of coarse salt

Juice of 1 lemon

1 clove of garlic (crushed)

1 Tablespoon of olive oil

baba ghanoush ingredients

  1. Prick aubergine a few times and then place whole on a baking sheet to roast for 30minutes at 180C (turning once during the process)
  2. Remove from the oven and immediately place into a bowl of cold water for a few seconds (this makes peeling much easier)
  3. Peel the skin off, roughly chop and place into a food processor with all the other ingredients – and whizz until smooth(ish)
  4. baba ghanoush blender
  5. baba ghanoush blended
  6. Place into a serving dish and refrigerate for a bit (as it seems to taste much nicer when it is cooled completely ;))
  7. Serve with bread, chips, crudites, etc….
Leave a Reply

