Paul Hollywoods Traditional Scones for Buttles Great Bake Challenge

yes – I am once again talking about my favourite tv show… or rather my favourite tv personality!!

the Silver Fox!

(Paul Hollywood from the Great British Bake Off which is currently running on BBC2 on Tuesday evenings at 8pm (UK time))

Back to the point….

For the September challenge of the Buttles Great Bake Challenge – the theme was SCONES & JAM… so our event in Brussels was held (in conjunction with Bookalokal) on Sunday 22nd September (also Car-free sunday in Brussels)… with 4 amazing bakers! (Read more about the Scones event here or about the previous Chocolate event here)

I decided that I wanted to make a Traditional Scone and had seen Paul Hollywood’s recipe on the BBC Food website and found that it worked PERFECTLY!… Simple ingredients and a batch of the lightest, softest and best rising scones that I have ever made!

Scones

scones final 2

500g strong white bread flour

80g softened butter

80g caster sugar

2 eggs

5 teaspoons baking powder

200ml milk

scones ingredients

  • Place 450g of the flour in a bowl and rub in butter (with your fingers) until you get to a crumb consistency
  • scones flour and butter
  • scones flour butter crumble
  • Add sugar, eggs and baking powder and mix with a wooden spoon
  • scones mix
  • Add half the milk and continue to mix
  • scones mix milk
  • Add the rest of the milk bit by bit to make a wet dough (and you don’t need to use all the milk if you think you have achieved the correct consistency)
  • scones wet batter
  • Use the 50g remaining flour on the table top (half on the table top and leave the rest for the dough)
  • Place dough on the floured counter top and cover with remaining flour
  • scone dough
  • Then chaff the dough (fold dough in half, then turn 90 degree’s and repeat) until the flour is incorporated into dough and consistency is smooth
  • scone dough rolled out
  • roll dough out with a rolling-pin to 2.5cm and using a cookie cutter (or a glass dipped in flour), cut out your pieces
  • scones pre oven
  • (glaze with beaten egg)
  • Bake at 200C (fan or 220C without fan) for 13minutes
  • scones post oven
  • scones final
10 thoughts on “Paul Hollywoods Traditional Scones for Buttles Great Bake Challenge

  1. I haven’t made scones since high school home economics classes, when they turned out like bricks. This might be the incentive I need to try them again! They look fab!

  2. These look so tasty!
    I’ve never used Paul Hollywood’s recipe, I’m a Delia Smith girl when it comes to scones. I always find hers turn out perfectly and they’re pretty fool proof. I’ve got a few scone recipes lined up for my blog this month so this post was perfectly timed! I’ve been covered in scone ingredients for like 4 days straight now lol.

      • Oooh I am a sucker for a buttermilk scone. I think there are so many recipes and sometimes you just want a different texture.
        And they’re so versatile that you can chop and change and it’s not a problem 🙂

  3. There’s a lot to say about this recipe it’s great I use it all the time my partner is a sucker for scones to-day I made cherry lovely omit sugar add seasoning and cheese for fab cheese scones

Leave a Reply

