Banana, Bran and Raisin Breakfast muffins

I have to tell you that this recipe was the perfect way to use up some over-ripe banana’s… and has lasted 4days in a sealed container – providing an excellent breakfast option when *on the run*.

And trust me – last week – was a *on the run* week, with meetings, workshops and pretty much something planned almost every evening… this normally means that I don’t have as much time to prepare lunchbox items (and I normally take my breakfast and lunch to the office with me in my little red coolerbox… yes – I am *THAT* chick!)

I did a bit of a *googlebox* – and was re-routed to one of my favourite recipe websites – BBC Good Food – and used the following recipe as a base. I replaced the wholemeal flour with bran… and removed the sunflower seeds, plus I only used 2 banana’s instead of 4…

These muffins are tasty and healthy… a little bit on the thick side – but boy oh boy… they fill you up until lunchtime (and sometimes to mid afternoon)… so they would be a great filler for any food-loving son/husband/friend/sportsperson’s daily breakfast! And I admit to having one with home-made jam (DELICIOUS) as they are not super sweet… and then of course – my favourite way to eat a bran muffin is with a slice of cheese (Mmmm).

Banana, Bran & Raisin Breakfast muffins

breakfast muffins final

125g bran

125g plain flour, sifted

2 teaspoons baking powder

100g brown sugar

a handful sultanas or raisins

100ml canola oil

2 bananas, very ripe and mashed

2 eggs

2 tablespoons milk

breakfast muffin ingredients

  • Mix  the flour, bran baking powder,  sugar, and  sultanas in   a bowl
  • breakfast muffin mix
  • Add the oil,  banana, eggs  and milk.
  • Fold together  with a large  metal spoon  (lumpy is ok!)
  • Spoon into 8/9 greased muffin tin portions
  • breakfast muffins oven
  • Bake for 20-25min at 160C (fan)

breakfast muffins final 2

6 thoughts on “Banana, Bran and Raisin Breakfast muffins

  1. Hi,

    Just a quick note to say thank you for the recipe. I threw (literally) these together at the weekend and they were absolutely scrummy, all round excellent, great recipe.

    Kate

Leave a Reply

