Who are you calling a Tart??? Blueberry Curd Tartlets

This September 2013 issue of Olive magazine travelled all the way from London Heathrow to Cape Town with me… and the only page that made it back to Brussels with me – was the page that had the blackberry curd tart on it! (I left the rest of the magazine with my family so that they could also enjoy it!)

I love the visual of the tart… and when I realised that it only had 7 ingredients (of which 2 are for decoration) – I was sold.

I adapted the recipe by using blueberries instead of blackberries – this however meant that the colour was slightly different and the curd wasn’t as sweet (in future – I would have cooked the blueberries with some sugar instead of just water)

Also – I have to confess that I had to remake the pastry cases as I managed to leave the first batch in the oven too long and they came out like biscuits!!! *oops*

The second attempt was far more successful and therefore I adjusted the blind baking times (also because I made these as individual tartlets instead of one large tart)

Blueberry Curd Tartlets

blueberry tart final 1

300g blueberries

1 teaspoon of lemon juice (they recommend using juice of one lime)

3 egg yolks

397g tin of condense milk

350g shortcrust pastry

how awesome is the picture from the magazine???

how awesome is the picture from the magazine???

  • cook the blueberries with a spoon of sugar and a splash of water until they start to soften and give up their juices
  • blueberry tart pot 2
  • Place into a fine sieve and use the back of a spoon to push all the juices through
  • blueberry tart sieve
  • blueberry tart sieve 2
  • Add the lime juice
  • Beat egg yolks with the condense milk
  • blueberry tart mix
  • Add blueberry thin purée
  • blueberry tart mix 2
  • cut your pastry to fit your tins (making sure that there is still a bit of overlap as the pastry will shrink when baked)
  • blueberry tart pastry
  • Blind bake for 10-15min or until lightly browned at 180C (fan) or 200C
  • Remove from heat
  • Beat the blueberry curd again  and pour into tartlet cases
  • blueberry tart pre oven
  • Bake for a further 15min and then leave to cool
  • blueberry tart post oven
  • decorate and serve
  • blueberry tart final 2
Leave a Reply

