All you knead is love…. Blue cheese and walnut rolls

I mean – who doesn’t love the silver fox? eh?

If you are a #GBBO fan like me – then you know who I am talking about!!

#GBBO = Great British Bake Off currently in season 4 on BBC2 and the Silver Fox = baker and #GBBO judge Paul Hollywood! (*sigh* – don’t tell HIM but I have a major crush on this tv celeb!! ;))

HIM and I hosted a little sunday luncheon on Sunday, 7 of us in total… and it seemed that whatever I did in the kitchen on Saturday just wouldn’t (or couldn’t) work… I had to make my dessert pastry cases twice (as I left the first batch in the oven too long)… and then my cauliflower and tomato soup just didn’t taste right…. so I left the making of bread to Sunday morning – when I knew I would be in a better frame of mind and therefore my bread would be better (and I managed to fix the soup!)

All you knead is love….

This recipe is adapted from the BBC Good Food Magazine (October 2011 issue) – (adapted because I have not used the butter and only used white bread flour (and not a combination of wholemeal & white) and it was still delicious!)Definitely a *re-make* kind of recipe! But – if you are like me … make sure that you create these when you are feeling a bit more happy and I promise that they will turn out great! (And remember that you need to give bread time…..)

Blue Cheese & Walnut bread rolls

walnut and blue cheese bread final

140g walnuts

500g strong white bread flour

14g sachet fast-achtion yeast

250g Roquefort cheese, crumbled

10g salt

300ml warm water

walnut and blue cheese bread ingredients

  • Whizz the walnuts in your food processor until fine, leave to one side
  • Place flour, salt, yeast and water in a bowl, stir together – and then get ready to knead for a couple of minutes to get it all to come together (add water (1 teaspoon at a time) if the mixture feels too dry)
  • walnut and blue cheese bread mix
  • Place dough on a lightly floured surface and knead (with love) for at least 10minutes before returning to the bowl
  • walnut and blue cheese bread dough
  • Cover bowl with clingfilm and leave to rise in a warm place for 1hr
  • walnut and blue cheese bread proof
  • walnut and blue cheese bread proof 2
  • knead in the walnuts and leave to rise for a further 20minutes
  • Place dough on a lightly floured surface and roll out to a rectangle shape (1cm thick)
  • walnut and blue cheese bread rolled out
  • Place the blue cheese on top of the dough and lightly press in
  • walnut and blue cheese bread with cheese
  • Place the long side of the dough rectangle in front of you and roll up like a swiss roll
  • walnut and blue cheese bread roll
  • cut into 8 equal sizes (mine did 10) and place on a lightly greased baking tray
  • Cover with clingfilm and leave to rise for 1hr
  • Bake for 20min at 200-220C
4 thoughts on “All you knead is love…. Blue cheese and walnut rolls

Leave a Reply

