Mushroom Savoury rice

Sometimes – just sometimes – I want a quick but filling meal … without meat.

I have never conformed or participated in the meat-free monday concept – but that doesn’t mean that I am not a fan – it is just that in reality – I don’t eat a lot of meat and when I do – I don’t always take into account the day of the week!

having said that – I have found myself to be a fan of vegetarian cooking recently (don’t worry – I wont be giving up my love of sushi, steaks and burgers just yet!)

So when I spotted this recipe in the BBC Good Food Magazine (March 2009 issue) I knew that it was a recipe to be saved for a rainy day (and in Brussels – we get a fair number of rainy days… :))

this is not a particular attractive looking dish – but what it misses in beauty – it makes up for in taste, filling-ness and all around healthy eating patterns!

Mushroom Savoury Rice

savoury rice final

200g rice

1 tablespoon olive oil

1 large onion, chopped

blob of butter

250g mushrooms (I used button mushrooms)

200ml passatta (they suggested using a tin of chopped tomatoes – but I much prefer my passatta mix)

400ml stock

mixed herbs

savoury rice ingredients

  • rinse rice and leave to drain
  • Heat oil in a casserole dish on top of the stove top
  • add the onion and fry until softened
  • savoury rice onions
  • Stir in the mushrooms with a blob of butter and some salt/seasoning
  • savoury rice mushrooms
  • Fry briefly
  • Add rice, stirring to coat in the oil
  • savoury rice mix
  • then add the passatta, stock and herbs
  • savoury rice mix with pasatta
  • Bring to the boil
  • savoury rice pre oven
  • Give it stir, cover tightly and bake for 30min in a heated oven (180C)
4 thoughts on “Mushroom Savoury rice

Leave a Reply

