Blueberry (banana) and lemon squares

I still had some blueberries left over in the freezer from Sarah (as I had only used half of the bag for the Banana & Blueberry Muffins) and since I am in *spring clean/moving* mode… I am on a mission to use up items that are in my freezer, fridge or store cupboard.

in terms of the word *spring clean* – I would like to state that the promise of spring is late… and I am now becoming concerned that if it doesn’t arrive – we will head straight back in into autumn without a word from Summer…. *sigh*…. anybody else also feel like that?

Back to discussing this recipe – after making the afore-mentioned muffins (which HIM really enjoyed)… I found this recipe in the latest Delicious Magazine (June 2013 issue) and knew that it was something that I wanted to try out.

Three points to mention

  1. I had one ripe banana that was sitting in the fridge begging to be used rather than tossed away… so I added it to the mixture before baking. This made the cake very moist but also added the little black flecks that are so very visible in Banana bread baking (not a bad thing)
  2. the blueberries sank to the bottom of the bake – not sure if this is because they were frozen berries or ? (for the record – this did not happen with the muffins that I made and those were also frozen berries). – if you know why this happened – please drop me a note and let me know!
  3. I did not make the icing for the cake as I am not a big fan of icing but if you are interested – mix 6-8 tablespoons lemon juice with 200g icing sugar and drizzle over the sponge and leave to set for 1hr

Blueberry, (banana) and lemon squares

blueberry final

250g self raising flour

1 teaspoon baking powder

225g caster sugar

4 large eggs

225g butter, softened

3 Tablespoons milk

grated zest of 3 lemons, plus a squirt of juice

250g blueberries

(1 mashed banana – my own addition)

blueberry squares

  • Place dry ingredients into a large bowl and make a well in the middle
  • Add eggs, butter, milk and lemon zest
  • Beat with electric hand mixer until smooth and combined
  • blueberry square mix 1
  • Stir in banana and blueberries (plus a squirt of lemon juice)
  • blueberry square mix 2
  • Pour batter into a greased traybake tin
  • blueberry square pre oven
  • Bake for 40-50minutes at 170C
  • (makes 24 squares)
  • blueberry square post oven
2 thoughts on “Blueberry (banana) and lemon squares

  1. Hi,

    I have had this problem before with fruit! I’m not sure if this is the same for frozen fruit, but apparently to stop fruit sinking you should dust in flour before adding to the rest of your mixture – these look amazing anyway, will have to try them! 🙂

    Abi

Leave a Reply

