Cauliflower and Stilton Soup

I can’t help it – but when the weather turns cold… all I want is a warming cup (or bowl) of tasty soup.

I never used to be like this… but since I moved to Brussels 5years ago – I have finally found that my favourite winter warmer is SOUP! Who would have thought?

Previously, I have blogged about Carrot soup, Butternut soup and recently a Broccoli and Courgette Soup, and I have been dying to make my own tomato soup (but I seem to devour tomatoes well before they reach the state of needing to be used up in Soup!).

HIM is also a fan of soup – and his recipe is essentially about throwing ALL available veggies into a pot with a tomato and stock, bringing them to the boil until they are all nice and soft, liquidizing them and then adding fresh baby spinach and lots of slices of chorizo and cooked baby pasta… a MEAL in its self!

I found this particular recipe in the BBC Good Food magazine (October 2010 issue) and knew that it was something that I had to try… especially since I am such a fan of cheese!! (and this magazine page has been sitting in my *must try* pile for a while now :))

Cauliflower & Stilton Soup

cauliflower and stilton soup ingredients

1 medium cauliflower

small knob of butter

1 onion, peeled and finely chopped

1 leek, finely sliced (my own addition to the recipe)

2 garlic cloves, peeled and crushed (another of my own additions)

1 litre of stock

250g stilton

100ml cream (they say creme fräiche… so up to you)

  • Remove outer leaves from cauliflower and break into small florets
  • Melt butter in a big pot (enough for entire soup) over a medium heat
  • Add leeks, garlic and onions and cook for 5minutes until onion becomes glassy
  • Add cauliflower and cook for a further 5minutes
  • cauliflower and stilton soup pot 1
  • Add the stock and bring to a simmer for 20minutes (or until cauliflower is soft)
  • crumble in the cheese and stir over a low heat until it is all melted
  • cauliflower and stilton soup pot 2
  • Add the cream and stir to combine
  • remove from the heat and liquidise (either handblender or liquidiser)
  • return to the pot and reheat gently

cauliflower and stilton soup final

2 thoughts on “Cauliflower and Stilton Soup

Leave a Reply

