Black and White Cheesecake

I am not American… but I do remember the advert (no idea why, as I don’t think our stores in SA even stocked this biscuit until I was in my teens)… of the little boy sitting on the steps of his house with an oreo™, a glass of a milk and the dog watching him eagerly, while the boy goes on to explain HOW TO EAT AN OREO™…  and I can say that the dog should have been nominated for an oscar… because the pure look of disappointment on his/her face when the realisation dawns that “Chocolate isn’t good for dogs, but you can have my milk” statement is the way that this story will end, is brilliant!

In all honesty, I haven’t been a big biscuit fan in general, so I have never had an undying fascination for these biscuits (but I do understand the allure as they are pretty yummy)… and when I glanced upon this recipe in the Olive Magazine (January 2011 Issue)… I was more than just a little intrigued! Oreo™ cookies as the base??? Definitely a deviation to my normal cheesecake base of either speculoos or digestive biscuits and I figured that with the upcoming Bookalokal Murder Mystery dinner coming up – this was going to my *killer* dessert 🙂

if you want to read more about the review from our lovely friends at CheeseWeb (Expat Life in Belgium)- click here

Black & White Cheesecake

oreo cheesecake 1

300g Oreo™ biscuits

50g butter, melted

600g soft cheese

2 Tablespoons flour

100g caster sugar

vanilla extract

2 eggs (plus 1 additional yolk)

300ml soured cream

200g white chocolate (melted & cooled)

  • Pull apart the biscuits and scrape out the filling (eat or throw away… I think I shall eat :))
  • Whizz the biscuits in a food processor
  • Pour in the butter and whizz again
  • Press into the base of a springform tin and bake for 5minutes at 180C, then cool
  • Beat soft cheese with the flour, sugar and a few drops of vanilla, eggs and half of the soured cream until fluffy
  • Stir in the white chocolate and pour into the tin
  • Bake for 40min at 180C and then check (should be set but wobbly in the centre)
  • leave to cool in the tin
  • spread over the rest of the sour cream and chill for 2-3hours or overnight
  • oreo cheesecake 2
  • oreo cheesecake final
12 thoughts on “Black and White Cheesecake

  1. I’ve made a similar cheesecake, except that the oreos were also mixed into the filling. I’m not into cheesecake, but everyone else said it worked. I should give it another try: at the time, I didn’t have a food processor or even a hand held one so went very retro with a potato masher 😀

  2. Now this looks good! I always used to think that I hated Oreos but have recently discovered this is not the case, and am now wondering about all the Oreo-themed desserts I have passed up in my lifetime.

  3. Pingback: Bookalokal (part 3): Mexican feast with Tamara « whyiamnotskinny

  4. Pingback: Lime Baked Cheesecake « whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

