Banana and Choc-chip muffins

One of the reasons that I started this blog was because I would try out a recipe and share the final product with friends and they would then ask for the recipe….  (not always… but sometimes :))… and it turned out that it was easier to say – “It’s on the blog” or “It will be tomorrows blog post”… then scratching through pieces of paper, ripped magazines, etc and remembering to bring the scrap of paper it to the office in order to email it off…

blog

Plus I needed to keep track of recipes that I was making instead of standing in front of a book case filled with 30+ cookery books thinking  “now which book has the xxxx recipe in it?” (but don’t get me wrong – I continue to buy cookery books as they remain my favourite bedside reading matter (apart from my bizarre interest in the thriller/crime book genre))

And of course – because food has become my passion (making it, eating it, etc), I also needed a creative outlet to express how I felt …

So, as this little blog has grown, I have found other bloggers to follow and have been inspired by their blog posts to try something new or in this case… make something from their blog because it made me drool so much!

Life with Lizzie is a mom, wife and worker from Cornwall who lives in Brussels…. posted about this recipe in January 2013 and I just KNEW that I had to try it…

Over-ripe banana’s??? DO NOT FEAR… cos this recipe will have them transformed into tasty treats…. which are hoovered up before you can say ABRACADABRA……

Banana Choc Chip Muffins

banana and chocchip muffins

300g plain flour

175g caster sugar

100g melted butter

50g milk

2 eggs (beaten)

3 ripe banana’s (mashed)

100g chocolate chips (I didn’t have any – so I followed Lizzie’s advice and chopped up a slab of Cote d’or)

15g baking powder

3g Bicarbonate of soda

  1. Heat oven to 220C
  2. Sift flour, sugar, baking powder and bicarb
  3. In another bowl, mix eggs with melted butter,milk and mashed banana’s
  4. Add to dry mixture along with chocolate pieces
  5. Mix gently
  6. Place into greased muffin tray (makes 12)
  7. Reduce heat of oven to 180C and bake for 20-25minutes

banana and chocchip muffins final

2 thoughts on “Banana and Choc-chip muffins

Leave a Reply

