Stuffed and prosciutto wrapped Chicken breasts

My Aussie friend, Kazzy introduced me to the world of glorious moist (but still cooked) chicken breasts… yes, you can even have moist SKINLESS chicken breasts. Just wrap around a piece of prosciutto and *ta da*… all the glorious juices inside are contained.

Which got me thinking… if I can keep the chicken breast moist and tasty… why can’t I stuff it as well??? So one particular Saturday, when HIM and I were indoors (remember it gets dark early here plus neither of us are too keen on exploring in the falling snow)… I decided to try my hand at stuffing a chicken breast BEFORE wrapping it all up.

(if you really want to chuckle, I was in the kitchen with my laptop watching episodes of House Season 8, while HIM was in the lounge with his laptop watching episodes of The Mentalist Season 2…. we love each other… but we have different tastes in tv series sometimes :))

The name is a mouthful… but in all honesty – it all works so well together…. so tasty…. there was enough to feed 4 adults (if you serve with vegetables and sides) – and of course I used the Garlic & Herb shaker seasoning that I got from Shelley from Cape Herb & Spice. YUM!!!

Pesto & Mozzarella stuffed chicken breasts wrapped in Prosciutto

mozzarella and pesto stuffed chicken

4 skinless chicken breasts

8 slices of prosciutto or jambon serrano

Mozzarella

Pesto

Seasoning (I used the Garlic & Herb mix from Cape Herb, but you can use any type of seasoning – even good old salt & pepper if you like)

Olive oil

Sage leaves

  1. Season chicken breasts and cut along the side of each breast to make a flap
  2. Add a teaspoon of pesto and a slice or two of mozzarella
  3. mozzarella and pesto stuffed chicken 1
  4. use 2 pieces of prosciutto per chicken breast to wrap up
  5. mozzarella and pesto stuffed chicken 2
  6. and repeat…..
  7. mozzarella and pesto stuffed chicken 3
  8. place in an oiled pan with a few pieces of sage
  9. mozzarella and pesto stuffed chicken 4
  10. and roast in an oven at 180C for 30-45minutes
  11. mozzarella and pesto stuffed chicken 5mozzarella and pesto stuffed chicken 6
Leave a Reply

