Mucking-Afazing Cheesy Polenta Cornbread

The North Americans are well versed in cornbread recipes… but I have to admit that the South Africans have their own take on it as well… and if my memory serves me right, I remember my ex-boyfriends mom always making a dish of it when they were having their weekly spare-rib braai!

So I was excited to find a recipe in the UK Delicious Magazine (no idea which issue, as I have a new trick of ripping out pages of recipes from magazines and placing them in a pile, so if there is no issue details on the page… the information is lost on me …) and have realised that sweetcorn in bread, is now a worldwide trend!

I particularly love the way that the little kernels of corn pop in your mouth with each bite, providing a delicious sweet contrast to the cheesy bread taste!

And funnily enough – you can ask my mom…. but I wasn’t a huge fan of corn until a few years ago! And now I try to put it into everything… even salads (as HIM has now had the joy to experience!)

Cheesy Polenta Cornbread

cheesy polenta cornbread baked

150g plain flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon bicarbonate of soda

1 Tablespoon caster sugar

1 teaspoon salt

125g dried polenta

1 teaspoon of chilli flakes (I used the Ina Paarman garlic and chilli flakes that mom gave me for Christmas)

75g cheddar cheese, grated

2 eggs, beaten

300ml Milk

150g corn (drained)

cheesy polenta cornbread

  1. Sift Flour, baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, sugar and salt together into a large bowl
  2. Stir in the polenta, chilli flakes and grated cheese
  3. cheesy polenta cornbread dry ingredients
  4. Make a well in the centre and add the beaten eggs and milk.
  5. Mix together well, then stir in the sweetcorn
  6. Pour mixture into a greased baking tin
  7. Bake for 35-45minutes at 200C (cover with a loose piece of foil after 30min if bread is browning too quickly)
  8. cheesy polenta cornbread sliced
2 thoughts on “Mucking-Afazing Cheesy Polenta Cornbread

Leave a Reply

