Roast butternut, blue cheese and sage tarts

Everyone knows that I am woefully addicted to buying foodie magazines… but now I am trying to move house, and that means that I have had the wonderful opportunity to go through my piles (and piles) of hoarded magazines in order to rip out the recipes that tickle my fancy and put them in a somewhat smaller pile than all the magazines.

In the Olive January 2012 Issue – I found a wonderful recipe under the “Eat in Everyday Value” section – and decided that it was exactly what I needed to make as a starter for our Post-Christmas Sunday luncheon (14 people – HIM and his 6 friends and Moi with my 6 friends) – so I doubled up on the recipe ingredients…. my personal opinion after making it is that the pastry was a bit on the dry side (my friends, bless them, said that it was perfect to them) – but the flavour of the butternut and the blue cheese together works like a bomb!!

Roast Butternut, Blue Cheese & Sage Tarts

butternut and blue cheese tart pre-baking 2

200g flour

100g butter

100g Parmesan cheese

1 egg

500g butternut (peeled and cubed)

olive oil

100g Blue cheese

handful of sage leaves (shredded)

  1. Whizz flour and butter to breadcrumbs in food processor
  2. Add half the parmesan, seasoning and the egg
  3. making my pastry in the food processor that Mommabear gave me!

    making my pastry in the food processor that Mommabear gave me!

  4. Pulse to make a dough
  5. Wrap and chill while you make the filling
  6. Toss butternut with olive oil and lots of seasoning
  7. spread in a single layer on a baking sheet and roast for 20minutes at 200C
  8. Leave to cool, while you roll out pastry
  9. Dust surface with extra flour
  10. roll out pastry to make a rough 30x20cm rectangle
  11. Arrange butternut on pastry leaving 3cm border
  12. Dot over the cheese and scatter sage and remaining parmesan cheese
  13. Fold over the edges of tart to make a freeform shell
  14. butternut and blue cheese tart pre-baking
  15. Glass with egg or milk and cook for 30minutes at 200C until crisp and light golden colour
  16. serve warm
each one was sliced into either 6 or 8 portions depending on whom I was serving (doubling up the quantity and making 2 meant 14slices!)

each one was sliced into either 6 or 8 portions depending on whom I was serving (doubling up the quantity and making 2 meant 14slices!)

2 thoughts on “Roast butternut, blue cheese and sage tarts

  1. Looking for a recipe with butternut, I came across your blog and just made your recipe, replacing sage by oregano and blue cheese by mature stilton. Can’t wait to taste it as the smell which comes out of the oven is so mouthwatering ! Thanks !

Leave a Reply

