Can salad really be substantial enough for dinner???

I love food (duh)…. but one thing that has always left me absolutely cold (no emotions) is lettuce leaves… Mommabear loves them, Dad doesnt… and on this one, I take after Dad…

When I normally think of salad – I picture a plate piled high with lettuce (sometimes if I really want to get my disapproval across, I picture the lettuce leaves to be somewhat grey and limp but for purposes of this blog – we can imagine them to be nice and green and crisp – maybe even a variety of leaves) – these normally fill the plate, piled high and are then topped with a spattering of colour – maybe a hard boiled egg sliced up, a few slices of tomato and an olive hiding behind some of the greenery.

Do I find this appealing… no

Do I think that this is substantial enough for dinner… definitely not.

BUT – I was introduced to a *SALAD* restaurant on the Place du Chatelain a while back and thought “Going to need to stop at McDonalds on the way home”  but it actually turned out to be a very surprising, filling and delicious experience!

Raconte Moi des Salades (Chatelain- as there are 2) is within easy walking distance of my apartment – and Mr Drapper, Sarah and I popped along for a quick bite to eat earlier in the week, the weather was still fine so we sat outside on the terrace.

borrowed from the web

I promise that the inside interior is quirky and full of fun – and is no way reflected by the image of the outside signage!!

Mr Drapper had the *Chatelain* Salad – chicken, grated apple and baby potatoes in a bit of a teepee construction 🙂

teepee style

Sarah had the *Orientale* Salad – prawns, shrimp and scallops in a warm curried sauce

And I had the BGM… not so much as a salad … but I like to be pious and say that I had salad for dinner… It was a chicken breast stuffed with sundried tomatoes, pesto and bit of mozzarella cheese baked in the oven and served with a portion of pasta and a portion of green salad leaves. Did I go home hungry? Definitely not.

 

The service is great, the variety on the menu is wonderful and although it is not cheap, it is not expensive either (approx 13-20Euros per salad).

Would I go back? YES

Raconte Moi des Salades

address: Place due Chatelain 19, 1050, Brussels

telephone: +32 2 534 2727

no website (sigh)

email: chatelain@racontemoidessalades.be

opening hours: Monday-Saturday: 12h30-14h30 & 19h00-23h00

Leave a Reply

