Makisu… loving thy sushi

I grew up with *the sound of music*… well, maybe not entirely true as the movie musical starring Julie Andrews was made in 1965 and I wasn’t even a twinkle in my parents eyes yet (in fact – they weren’t even out of junior school at this point.)

But I have vivid memories of watching this spectacular on TV and singing along… Julie Andrews plays Maria Rainer – a girl training to be a nun… who then becomes the governess to 7 (yes, SEVEN) Von Trapp children… and finally (as in all good fairy tales)… marries their father (without giving away too much of the story… heehee)

But the songs… oh, those glorious melodic songs… that make you want to break out and sing along….”Maria”, “Do-Re-Mi”, “Sixteen going on Seventeen”, “the lonely goatherd”, “climb every mountain”…. to name a few…

But my absolute favourite (well – at least one of my very very VERY favourites) is “My Favourite Things”….

“Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens, bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens, brown paper packages tied up with strings – these are a few of my favourite things!

Cream coloured ponies and crisp apple studels, doorbells and sleighbells and schnitzel with noodles, wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings – these are a few of my favourite things!

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes, snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes, silver white winters that melt into spring – these are a few of my favourite things!”

Which brings me to my point… SUSHI is one of MY favourite things 🙂

Inside of the shop – photo courtesy of their website

Which is why – I needed (not wanted) to check out the newly opened sushi spot called makisu (the sunny side of sushi)…. a cute little restaurant offering a *create your own maki process* or ordering one of their signature sushi rolls… With over 30 fresh and delicious ingredients… there are millions of permutations to experience! They also believe that loving sushi should not break the bank – so their prices are reasonable… YEAH for me!

From left to right: Astro Boy  (marinated chicken, avocado, cream cheese, japanese herbs & teriyaki sauce – 4.50Euros); Philly Roll (Salmon, cucumber & cream cheese – 4.25Euros) and Dragon Roll (Shrimp tempura, avocado, cucumber, unagi sauce – 5Euros)

Was Truly yummy… although I only have one comment… the shrimp tempura in the Dragon Roll were pretty crunchy… and my thought is that they didn’t remove the shrimps shell before battering them up… oh well… it was still completely worth it and would I go again? YES!

Got to love the wooden boards that they use… with plastic *drip* (?) trays on the sides for the soya sauce/wasabi combinations… LOVE IT

My question to you – what a few of YOUR favourite things?

Makisu

address: 5 Rue Du Bailli, 1000, Brussels

telephone: +32 2 640 4550

email: info@makisu.be

www.makisu.be

Opening Hours: Monday-Tuesday: 12h00-15h00, Wednesday-Saturday: 12h00-15h00 & 18h00-22h00

5 thoughts on “Makisu… loving thy sushi

  1. Ha ha! What a coincidence! “My favourite things” is actually the theme for my 30th next month and I want to serve all my favourite foods – well as many as possible.

    • and what is YOUR favourite thing??? I had such a hard deciding on one… and then I realised that the song has more than one… so now I feel vindicated on having multiple Favourites (tomatoes, chocolate, sushi, wine, HIM… the list goes on :))….. ooh – wish I was there for the party … hee hee

Leave a Reply

