Melt in your mouth self-saucing Chocolate pudding

Don’t you love impromptu dinner parties???

The problem is, if you are the lucky chinese volunteer to be hosting an impromptu dinner – best you have some goodies in your larder – right? Fortunately for me, I had some chicken breasts, fresh veggies to stir fry and a lovely cook in stir fry oyster sauce… so that was dinner done.

But as we were sitting around the table, finishing off the last mouthfuls of our stirfry and rice, I suddenly gasped and thought “what’s for dessert???”. Now as a single person with a freezer the size of a shoebox, I don’t keep ice-cream (so this wasn’t an option) and we all know that cake doesn’t last long in my house (nor does chocolate)… but I do have a bookshelf stocked with my most prized recipe books and a cupboard stocked with all things delightful… so I scurried off to the kitchen with one of the books (another of my SA favourites – as seen below) and found a dessert that evokes memories of winter warmth, comfort and love… a self-saucing chocolate pudding!

Quick check in the fridge and store cupboard concluded that I had all the ingredients that I needed and 40minutes later… we were tucking into this delicious heartwarming (hip hugging) pud drizzled with custard! Mmmmm

Self-saucing Chocolate Pudding

50g Butter

1cup flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 Tablespoons Cocoa powder

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

1/2 cup sugar

1 Tablespoon cocoa powder

1 and half cups of boiling water

  1. melt butter in a saucepan bigger enough to mix all ingredients
  2. Sift in flour, baking powder and first measure of cocoa.
  3. Add sugar, milk and vanilla essence and beat with a wooden spoon until combined
  4. Pour into a greased 1litre dish
  5. Mix together second measures of sugar and cocoa and sprinkle over batter
  6. Pour boiling water over the back of spoon onto powder
  7. Bake at 180C for 35-40minutes until pudding springs back when lightly pressed

(serves 4-6 or just 4 very happy people)

looks like a chocolate soup 🙂

