Quick and Easy and utterly delicious Tiramisu

Tiramisu essentially translates from Italian to English as *pick me up* (as in *makes me happy*) and is a traditional Italian dessert consisting of layers of ladyfingers (boudoir or Savoiardi) biscuits dipped in coffee and a whipped mixture of egg yolks and mascarpone cheese – flavoured with liquor (Marsala or Tia Maria or the like) as well as a topping of cocoa!

I remember my student days where I used to work in a little Italian restaurant in Port Elizabeth called *Bella Napoli* and being in awe of the owners wife’s homemade Tiramisu! It was creamy and rich without being too heavy… it was perfect.

I think that the perfection of her version has always scared me off trying to make it myself…but I had a tub of mascarpone sitting in the fridge and decided to give it a go!

Using my trusty google search button and one of my favourite recipe searching sites (www.bbcgoodfood.com) … I managed to find a recipe that promised a super-simple Italian dessert that would be made ahead of time and taste DELISH, as seen here!

Tiramisu

568ml double cream

250g tub mascarpone

75ml Marsala (I landed up using Port as I didn’t have Marsala and it was still great)

5 Tablespoons caster sugar

300ml strong coffee (2 Tablespoons coffee granules with 300ml boiling water)

200g sponge fingers (lady/boudoir/etc)

25g Dark chocolate (grated)

2 Tablespoons cocoa powder (I used one Tablespoon cocoa and one Tablespoon of chocolate drinking powder)

so simple!

  1. Whisk together cream, mascarpone, liquor and sugar until completely combined and consistency of thickly whipped cream. (I used a beater and it turned out just fine)
  2. place coffee in a shallow dish and dip sponge fingers in one at a time – only for a brief second and coating both sides so that nicely coated WITHOUT being soggy!
  3. Layer dish with biscuits – then spread over creamy mixture and then a bit of grated chocolate
  4. Repeat layers until you end with the creamy layer.
  5. Cover and chill for a few hours or overnight (can be kept in fridge for 2days)
  6. Dust with cocoa powder and serve
2 thoughts on “Quick and Easy and utterly delicious Tiramisu

  1. Pingback: Tiramisu Chocolate Pots | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

