Lentil Ragu

I can’t believe it… My vegetarian repertoire has always been limited – but now it seems that these are the recipes that I see and think “ooh -yes, I wanna try that!” – so my little category of Vegetarian offerings is growing!

Secondly – I never thought that I would be a fan of lentils… as I always thought that they looked like ticks (as already mentioned here)… but this food item is now becoming a fast and firm favourite in my little kitchen!

While doing a bit of google searching for recipes using Celery (because we all know that I like to cook based on what is in my fridge :)).. I stumbled across a Lentil Ragu recipe on the BBC Good Food Website – which I adapted slightly 🙂

Wikipedia describes Ragú as an Italian meat-based sauce (influenced by the French) which is normally served with pasta – and one of the most well-known ragú’s would be the bolognese sauce! Characteristically, a ragú is a sauce of braised or stewed meat that maybe flavoured with tomato.

Mine, however, did not have any meat or meat related items…. and this is a great recipe for a family… superhealthy and feeds 6people comfortably! Plus you can freeze the sauce for up to 3months!

Lentil Ragú

3 Tablespoons Olive oil

2 onions, finely chopped

3 carrots, finely chopped

3 celery sticks finely chopped

3 garlic cloves, crushed

500g bag dried red lentils (I used the green ones)

750ml Passatta

2 Tablespoons tomato puree

2 teaspoons dried oregano & thyme

1l vegetable stock

500g spaghetti (plus parmesan to serve)

  1. Heat the oil in large pan and add onions, carrots, celery and garlic
  2. carrots and celery finely chopped and about to crush the garlic
  3. Cook gently for 15-20minutes until softened
  4. Stir in lentils, passatta, tomato puree, herbs and stock
  5. Bring to a simmer and cook for 40-50minutes until lentils are tender and saucy (add water if needed and season)
  6. If eating straight away – keep on a low heat while you cook the spaghetti (I used macaroni pasta)….

    What I would call a *homely* looking plate of food 🙂
One thought on “Lentil Ragu

Leave a Reply

