Balans in Westfields for the best SERVICE of your life… and the food isn’t too bad either :)

I eat out a lot … in fact – I would probably say that I eat at restaurants a minimum of 3times a week (and sometimes one or two of those are just at my favourite locals (like Lucy Changs or La Piola)… so I do consider myself a pretty good judge on good service.

I zipped across the pond for a day … and after about 3hours of some serious retail therapy (if this was an Olympic sport – I would be a sure contender for  Gold!)… I knew that I needed some sustenance… so I ambled along the South Terrace of Restaurants at Westfields Shopping Centre, looking at each of the menu’s and debating internally on what I felt like eating… most of them were relatively quiet… except for BALANS which seemed to be packed (and this is normally a very good indicator for a good spot to eat.)

As I walked up to the entrance, I was immediately greeted warmly by one of the managers and wasn’t made to feel like a *freak* because I wanted a table for one! I was offered a table inside near the bar where I could watch the comings and goings of the patrons and staff… AND a good view of the open kitchen where everything seemed to be working perfectly! It was one of those surreal experiences that I was offered what I wanted before I even had a chance to call someone over… and any trace of eye contact with the staff had someone rushing over to ask if everything was ok if you needed something else! WITHOUT being too in-your-face!

My order was taken and delivered promptly… Tasted brilliant! A BBQ chicken sandwich – chicken, bacon, avocado (half of one :)), tomato, ice-berg lettuce on a house baked sesame bun served with hand cut chips (8.95)… all washed down with a lovely glass of pinot grigio.

HELLO TIGER:

Then, as my empty plate was whisked away… suddenly a dessert menu miraculously appeared on the table and the lovely waitress (who I guessed to be Slovenian) suggested that I try the Banoffi… which was her favourite (and who was I to argue….)

YUM…. worth following her suggestion! Not too sweet (which is what I was expecting, when thinking of caramel in a dessert… and only 5,95)

would I go back again?? YES YES YES!

Balans Cafe

Address: South Terrace, Westfields Shopping Centre, Ariel Way, London, W12 7GA

Telephone: +44 020 8600 3320

Opening hours: Mon-Sat: 08h00 – 23h00; Sun: 09h00-22h00

www.balans.co.uk

Leave a Reply

