Does anyone else think that lentils look like ticks??

I can’t help it… and I know that my mother agrees with me on this one… But lentils look like ticks!! Don’t you think???

Having said that (and hopefully not offending anyone)… I made a soup a while back and didn’t have any potatoes to bulk it up – and landed up throwing in some lentils … which made the veggie soup all nice and thick when I liquidised it! And this got me thinking … I never use lentils in my normal cooking and now I need to look for a recipe that makes use of this store cupboard item!

The inspiration that I actually found was thanks to numerous visits to Tapas bars (gosh – this makes me sound like a lush!!)… as they generally offer a lentil salad type offering as one of the tapas options… and I am hooked! So I decided to make my own version of it.

Lentil Salad

cup of  lentils

pinch of salt

tomato

feta

glug of olive oil

Juice of half a lemon

handful of Mint

  1. Soak the lentils in some cold water for about half an hour
  2. drain and rinse them
  3. Add to a pot with enough salted water to cover them and cook on a medium heat for 30minutes until soft
  4. Drain and rinse again
  5. Cut up tomato and feta and add to cooked lentils along with torn up mint leaves and a good glug of olive oil and the juice of half a lemon.

Printable version available here

One thought on “Does anyone else think that lentils look like ticks??

  1. Pingback: Lentil Ragu « whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

