Feeling Fishy at Cape Town Fish Market

I can’t actually remember my first sushi experience… but I am pretty sure that my dad introduced me to the whole experience at the Cape Town Fish Market at the V&A Waterfront in Cape Town (many many MANY moons ago)… and since then, I have always felt an affinity to enjoying sushi at CTFM.

It appeals to the hedonist in me… instant gratification… I see what I want and take it, eat it and enjoy it. DONE! It removes the hassle of staring at a menu with NO idea of what might be presented to you 20 (or more) minutes later… and completely removes the notion of *his plate looks more appealing than mine* which seems to happen to people around me all the time!

And as the CTFM website reminds us… Sushi is not just raw fish… in fact, the raw fish aspect is called Sashimi – which sushi is a Japanese food consisting of cooked, vinegared rice (shari) combined with other ingredients (neta). While the Neta can vary considerable as well as the presentation… the principal ingredient is the Shari! And of course – important seasonings to accompany the sushi are wasabi (Japanese horseradish) and soy sauce!

Anyway – as I was in Cape Town for 2 glorious weeks of holiday… the first trip to CTFM was on a Tuesday (their half price sushi special day) at Steenberg with my folks… and the second time was a few days later at the Canal Walk branch after an exhausting morning of retail therapy with mom.

Here we discovered their *Fat Fish & Seafood Plank* special – which is any bottle of their Fat Fish Wine served with a starter selection of fish cakes, fried calamari and tempura prawns (either for 2 or 4 people = R102/R138).

Bonus!

As you can see – this went down beautifully with a few plates of sushi – so Mom and I went home happy!!

One thought on “Feeling Fishy at Cape Town Fish Market

Leave a Reply

