M’s marvellous scalloped tomatoes

I had never even heard of scalloped tomatoes until I got to M’s place this past week!

She knows that I am absolutely CRAZY for tomatoes!! (Like my father, I can bite into a juicy red tomato like other people can bite into an apple!) And if you want to truly make me happy… slice that ruby ball, add lashings of salt and pepper – serve just like that on some buttered toast or on a plate with mozzarella and basil (and dripping of olive oil) or even just sliced with salt and pepper! This is actually the only traditional ingredient of a salad that I like!!! And as I type this up… my mouth is already starting to salivate as I think of how I can add some more tomatoes to my daily menu plan!

I know that scalloped potatoes is essentially a type of casserole with thinly sliced potatoes, cheese, milk and breadcrumbs which is then baked until gloriously tasty. And let’s be honest, this is just another take on the Potato Dauphinoise recipe, right?

So when M said she was making dinner for us (and considering that I was in serious need of some cheering up, since my Dr’s had finally figured out why I was still sick with flu symptoms – which is a WHOLE other story)… I was like *yes, yes, YES* … someone will cook for me and make me feel better. (And we all know that food cheers me up :))

She started out by serving a fabulous combination of pear, blue cheese and walnuts over a bed of rocket and with a mustard honey vinaigrette. (definitely a good start)

And then the fabulous Scalloped Tomatoes with courgette fritters:

Good Olive oil

2cups diced bread (she used Campagne loaf from the local bakery and left the crust on)

16 plum tomatoes (she used 8 vine-on tomatoes)

3cloves garlic

2 tablespoons sugar

2teaspoons salt

1 teaspoon black pepper

½ cup basil leaves

1 cup freshly grated Parmesan cheese (she used grated Emmental… and we all know how I love to mix up cheeses… so I can see this reasoning)

  1. Preheat oven to 180C
  2. Heat oil in a pan over medium heat, add bread cubes & stir to coat in oil
  3. Cook over medium to medium-high heat for 5minutes until cubes evenly browned
  4. Combine tomatoes, garlic, sugar, salt & pepper in a bowl
  5. Add to pan with bread and continue to cook for 5minutes
  6. Off the heat, add basil
  7. Pour into shallow baking dish
  8. Sprinkle with cheese
  9. Back for 35-40min

M says that she found the recipe on this Foodnetwork site which is a site that I have never used before, but am glad to have now seen what it can offer!!

And of course – the evening would not have been complete if we hadn’t opened some good wine to go with it (and no – I didn’t drink all of this… there were 4 of us in total! pah)

One thought on “M’s marvellous scalloped tomatoes

  1. Pingback: the ULTIMATE cheese and tomato toastie « whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

