My Granny’s Chocolate-Coconut Biscuit Recipe

I have the most amazing memories of my childhood holiday’s in Port Alfred… as already mentioned in my Corn Fritter post – particularly, as my granny used to bake for the *afternoon tea biscuit tins*.

At 14h45/15h00 – there was this a ritual of setting the tea-tray with a crocheted cloth along with a set of cups and saucers, a jug of milk, the sugar bowl and a plate of something special from one of the tins! Lucky was the delegated person who was allowed to pick which tin would be raided for that particular afternoon!

Anything from fruit-mince pies to fruitcake to biscuits to home-make buttermilk rusks! And the Biscuits… oh those glorious biscuits… they could be shortbread, cherry topped or my personal favourite the chocolate-coconut ones sandwiched together with chocolate to resemble the infamous South African favourite Romany Creams version!

Sadly, my granny is now living in Durban and is in her 80’s and doesn’t have the energy or the inclination to bake anymore… but this recipe was handed down to me on one of my previous visits… and now… with a great amount of honour on her behalf… I share this delightful recipe with you!

Chocolate Coconut Biscuits

2 Tablespoons cocoa

1/2 cup boiling water

1cup castor sugar

250g butter

vanilla essence

2 cups flour

2 teaspoon baking powder

salt

1 & 1/2 cups coconut

  1. cream butter and sugar
  2. Add to flour mixture (flour, baking powder, salt and coconut)
  3. Add cocoa
  4. Mix in boiling water
  5. mix well and add vanilla essence
  1. drop teaspoons onto a greased baking tray
  1. Bake at 180C for 15-20minutes
  2. Sandwich together with melted chocolate!

 

3 thoughts on “My Granny’s Chocolate-Coconut Biscuit Recipe

  1. Pingback: Apricot Jam Biscuits « whyiamnotskinny

  2. Pingback: Why I loved 2014 | whyiamnotskinny

  3. Pingback: Why I loved 2016 | whyiamnotskinny

Leave a Reply

